Databases are the best way of finding peer-reviewed articles, scholarly books, conferences, theses and other information on your topic. Some databases enable you to search across disciplines while others are tailored to help researchers in your specific subject.
Use our database list to explore databases for your subject or to find databases by material type.
Contains full-text access to current newspapers (1980s to present) from across the world, as well as UK national and local newspapers.
Europresse
Provides access to more than 6,200 largely French and Francophone sources, covering current events on the local, regional, national and international scenes. Sources include: Newspapers, Trade publications, Corporate histories and profiles, News wires, Radio and television programme transcripts, Selected blogs, Indexed web sites, Reports
MLA International Bibliography
One of the best databases for indexing secondary literature from books, journals, theses etc in Modern Languages.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Covers disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Translation Studies Bibliography
An annotated bibliography of Translation and Interpreting Studies, launched in 2004. The following categories of pubilcations are included: journal articles, monographs, (articles from) collective volumes, reviews, reference materials, dissertations and unpublished manuscripts. The bibliography does not index translations or dictionaries, unless relevant to research in Translation and Interpreting.
