Design: Art & Design History

Art & Design History

Art & Architecture Archive is a full-text archive of key art magazine titles providing a rich source of research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first.

ARTbibliographies Modern indexes journal articles, books, and exhibition catalogues relating to modern and contemporary arts from the 1890s. The comprehensive abstracts provided make it an excellent source for information on artists, art movements, art history and theory, design, photography, and crafts. Good coverage of all traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing. Includes publications since 1974.

Artforum Archive (1962-2020) gives access to the backfile of Artforum (later Artforum International), the leading magazine for coverage of international contemporary art, from its launch in 1962 to 2020. Spanning six decades of reporting on art in all media, Artforum offers features, reviews, and interviews relating to artists, exhibitions, publications, and other art world events/trends. 

Bridgeman Education is a specialist digital fine art collection with the work 30,000 artists from 1,600 museums, galleries, institutions and private collections across 8,000 locations. Includes architecture, photography, sculpture, digital art, painting, drawing

JSTOR Images contains over 1 million digital images of visual material encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures. Focuses on, but is not limited to, the arts. Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.

Access training materials and guides 

Why Use Databases

Databases are the best way of finding peer-reviewed articles, scholarly books, conferences, theses and other information on your topic. Some databases enable you to search across disciplines while others are tailored to help researchers in your specific subject. 

Use our database list to explore databases for your subject or to find databases by material type.