African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
This collection of African-American Newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s. It also contains large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements, all of which embody the African-American experience.
Online database with complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 490,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954.
Watch video guide on how to search | Access training materials and guides
Search full-text early American books, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and rare printed materials from 1639-1819. A combined search interface to the historical databases: Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; and their respective supplements.
America's Historical Newspapers
Includes thousands of titles from 50 states chronicling the evolution of American culture and society through eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries, and much more. Warwick has access to 1690-1876.
Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)
Curated and indexed declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.
Documenting the American South
Access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
History Vault: Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle offers the opportunity to study all the events of the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the men, women, and sometimes even children who waged one of the most inspiring social movements in American history. This category consists of the NAACP Papers and federal government records, organizational records, and personal papers regarding the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century.
History Vault: Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War
Explore primary sources relating to slavery and life in the American South, including Plantations Records, court petitions and insights into slave life. Warwick has access to the following four modules: Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle, Plantation Records Part 1, Slavery and the Law, Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries.
Complete FCO 7 and FCO 82 files from The National Archives, Kew, this resource covers Richard Nixon's entire presidential term, including foreign policy issues such as the Cold War, Vietnam, Paris Peace talks and relations with China and the Middle East and his achievements at home including the creation of the Environmental Protection Agency, cancer research, extension of the Voting Rights Act and civil rights.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
A collection of original archival materials about popular culture in the U.S. and U.K. from 1950-1975. The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period. Access is available to collections I-II.
Access searching guides | Access training materials and guides
Primary source material on the Civil Rights Movement, segregation, discrimination and racial theory in America during three pivotal decades of the twentieth century. Includes a range of material including interviews and statistics, educational pamphlets, administrative correspondence, and photographs and speeches from the Annual Race Relations Institutes.
US Declassified Documents Online
Materials cover virtually every significant foreign policy development and international crisis, from the years leading up to the First World War through the end of the Cold War.
Databases for History provide access to a huge range of primary source archives online. They allow you to search and access material without having to travel to archives and can bring material from across different archives together under a theme. They can also provide character recognition, full-text search, transcripts along with supporting contextual analysis, accompanying essays or tools such as timelines to help you make sense of the material you are working with.
America: History & Life
America's Historical Imprints
The Nixon Years, 1969-1974
Race Relations in America