Journals are short-form academic literature. They are published relatively quickly (compared to books) so are an up-to-date form of academic literature.
Articles present new research, comment on new law, propose law reform, and generate academic debate in their discipline.
Articles are generally academic essays, but may also include case comments, legislation comments, and book reviews.
Journals are peer reviewed which is a process of academic quality control. Articles are reviewed by other academics (peers) prior to publication to validate research
For items not available in the library, use our document supply service to get articles, books, chapters and request postal loans.
To request journal articles (where we d not have full-text access to the journal title), go to Get It For Me, click on Articles and complete the request form providing as much bibliographic information as possible.
The library will endeavour to provide a digital copy of the article from another provider.
Scopus
Scopus is a global multidisciplinary index, abstract and citation databases from Elsevier. It includes 25,000+ peer reviewed journals + pre-prints, conference papers and book series across the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. With 2.4+ billion cited references from 1970, and research metrics for articles, journals and authors.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a global multidisciplinary index, abstract and citation databases from Clarivate. It includes 22,000+ peer reviewed journals + conference papers and book series across the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. With 2.3+ billion cited references from 1900, and research metrics for articles, journals and authors.
ABI/INFORM Global
ABI/INFORM Global is an index, abstract and selected full-text database for journals and other publications in business and management, economics, finance and management. It includes selected full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, conference papers, country and market reports.
Business Source Ultimate
Business Source Ultimate is an index, abstract and selected full-text databases for journals and other publications in business and management, economics, finance and marketing. Includes selected full-text journal articles, case studies, country and company reports.
EconLit
EconLit is an index, abstract and selected full-text databases for journals and other publications in economics and finance. Indexes 1,000+ journals, working papers, dissertations and books using Journal of Economic Literature classification scheme. Also includes full-text articles from 600+ journals, including American Economic Association titles.
Dimensions
Dimensions is a global multidisciplinary index, abstract and citation database from Digital Science. It's strength is in research metrics and analysis, rather than literature searching, and it makes connections between research funding, datasets, publications, patents and policy documents.
[First time users should register for an account with their @warwick.ac.uk email.]
Overton
Overton is a grey literature database including public policy documents, guidelines, think tank reports and working papers. Use it to find public policy documents on a topic and to find research impact, including the citation of academic publications, researchers and institutions.
[First time users should register for an account with their @warwick.ac.uk email.]
The library does not have a direct subscription to the Harvard Business Review, but the full-text of all HBR articles are available via Business Source Ultimate without embargo.
Login to Business Source > click on Publications > and search for Harvard Business Review.
Discover how to avoid plagiarism, how to use the Harvard referencing style, and how to manage references with EndNote referencing software.
Discover the range of research databases for business, economics and financial reports, statistics and data.
Discover the library's support for researchers including literature searching, reference management, research data management, open access and publishing and research metrics.
The library does not hold institutional membership of the American Economic Association, but the full-text of all AEA journals are available via 