Skip to Main Content

Law: EU Official Publications

Guide to law resources at University of Warwick Library. Includes law books, journals, databases, study skills, referencing, legal research and law librarian.

Official Publications

Black and white outline drawing of London skyline

Key EU Databases

EuropaOfficial website of the European Union

Search EuropaGoogle search engine for the Europa website

The EU in [Year]
Annual general report on the activities of the European Union (2013 to date)

EU At A Glance: Key guides to EU policies and activities

Legislative Observatory
European Parliament's record of legislative and non-legislative materials

EUR-Lex
Official legal publications of European Union including the Official Journal (OJ)

Tenders Electronic Daily (TED)
Database of public procurement notices (tenders) across the EU and European Economic Area

EU Web Archive
Archive of official EU institution, agency and body websites from 1996

European Sources Online (ESO)
Search engine for primary and secondary sources of EU information from the Cardiff EDC

EU Libraries and Archives

Find-ER:
European Commission Library catalogue search

EC Library Guides:
LibGuides from the European Commission Library

Community Research and Development Information Service (CORDIS)
Repository of results and publication from EU funded research projects

Historical Archives of the European Union (HAEU)
Official archive of European Union institutions hosted at the European University Institute (EUI)

European University Institute Library
Library and European Documentation Centre at European University Institute (EUI)

CADMUS:
Open access research repository of the European University Institute (EUI) including PhD theses, research data and working papers

European Documentation Centre

European Union logo 

The University of Warwick Library was a European Documentation Centre (EDC) until the United Kingdom's exit from the European Union on 31 December 2020 (Brexit).

As a former EDC, the Library has an extensive collection of printed and microform official publications from the European Union. The collection is available on Floor 4 of the Library, at classmarks 4M to 4P, and it includes treaties, legislation, COM documents (working documents), case law, and statistics.

Most official publications of the European Union are available on the Europa, EuroParl, EUR-Lex, Curia and EuroStat websites.

Council of Europe

Council of Europe logo 

The Council of Europe (CoE) is not part of the European Union, but is often confused with the European Council and the European Union. The Council of Europe is an international organisation protecting democracy, human rights and the rule of law in Europe.

The CoE includes 46 member states (the EU includes 27 member states), and it's structure includes a Secretary General, Committee of Minsters, Parliamentary Assembly, and European Court of Human Rights.