Databases are the best way of finding peer-reviewed articles, scholarly books, conferences, theses and other information on your topic. Some databases enable you to search across disciplines while others are tailored to help researchers in your specific subject.
Use our database list to explore databases for your subject or to find databases by material type.
A bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries and is updated quarterly. Extensive indexing includes personal and proper names along with subject terms; there is also the capability to search for the authors of book reviews.
JSTOR (Journal STORage) gives access to (A) the full text of the complete back files of important scholarly journals, generally from the first volume through issues published prior to the most recent three years, and, (B) 800+ e-book titles from a wide variety of disciplines published digitally by university presses from 2013. All content can be searched at once; searches can also be limited via the 'Content Type' limit.
E- journal and e-book platform offering access to scholarly titles from several American university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Those e-journals Warwick has access to are marked with a green ticked circle. When browsing subject collections use the 'Only content I have full access to box'. Warwick has access to the Project Muse open access e-books.
PhilPapers: Online Research in Philosophy
PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophical articles and books by academic philosophers. It monitors journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages. PhilPapers offers real-time indexing of pre-prints, classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums. PhilPapers also accepts articles directly from users, who can provide links or upload copies. Some features require that you sign in first, but creating an account is easy and free.
Philosopher's Index
A bibliographic database with author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. WebBridge links help you to link out to find Warwick’s full-text content. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters and book reviews. Indexes over 550 journals.
Find out about the online courses we offer for all students to help develop both your wider academic skills and skills in using the Library for your research.
