Databases are the best way of finding peer-reviewed articles, scholarly books, conferences, theses and other information on your topic. Some databases enable you to search across disciplines while others are tailored to help researchers in your specific subject.
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. Researchers and scholars can examine topics such as how sexual norms have changed over time, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism etc.
Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material to enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.
With this collection, reseachers can study the ideals of social conduct, power distribution within the family, consumption and leisure, education of men and women and gendered perceptions of the body, etc. to analyse and challenge the changing views and ideas surrounding traditional gender roles.
Mass Observation Online offers transformative research possibilities with full-text searching across all manuscript documents in the archive of the Mass Observation Project, a pioneering social research project, the aim of which was to create an 'anthropology of ourselves', and by recruiting a team of observers and a panel of volunteer writers they studied the everyday lives of ordinary people in Britain.
Mass Observation Project 1981-2009 provides digital access to a unique life-writing archive, capturing the everyday experiences, thoughts and opinions of people living through the turbulent final decades of the 20th century and the advent of the 21st century.
Writing in response to directives (questionnaires), hundreds of Mass Observers provide a unique insight into an extraordinary range of subjects, from the deeply personal (sex, family) to everyday life (shopping, holidays) to global affairs.
Political Extremism and Radicalism
Liberal democracies of North America, Europe, and Australasia throughout the twentieth century have experienced a variety of forms of extremism and radicalism that have shaped mainstream political thinking as well as cultural norms.
In the Political Extremism and Radicalism series Gale provides insight on unorthodox (by contemporary standards), fringe groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum through rare, hard to access primary sources. The collections cover a period of just over a century (1900s to 2010s) when the world saw the formation of several civil rights movements, including for the rights of minorities, women's rights, and gay rights.
Find out about the online courses we offer for all students to help develop both your wider academic skills and skills in using the Library for your research.