Centre for Interdisciplinary Methodologies: Journals and Journal Databases

Journals are regular (serial) publications, like magazines, that publish the outcome of original research and are aimed at other researchers or scholars. They can focus on a narrow field of study.

Journal articles often cover quite narrow topics within a field. They record the state of the art so will keep up to date with the latest concepts, findings, or trends, scholarly analysis or research. Find articles using Library Search with the Articles search function.

Journal articles undergo peer-review, which is a process of review by experts in the field (peers). It is aimed at validating the research prior to publication of an article, ensuring quality, originality, contribution to the knowledge base, and authority in a research article.

Library Online Courses

The library has a range of self-study courses to support study skills from library inductions for new students, literature searching, academic writing, plagiarism and referencing, to mindfulness and meditation.

Get Started:
Library Induction

Finding Information:
Research for Assignments

Understanding Information:
In Academia and Beyond

Introduction to
Academic Writing

Presenting and Visualising Information

Mindful Library:
Mindfulness for Students

Google Scholar broadly searches the web for scholarly literature across disciplines and source types: journal articles, theses etc. from publisher websites and institutional repositories. The library would always recommend prioritising the use of Library Search and the many databases you have access to through the library, but Google Scholar might return results which we do not have in our collections. 

In order to get the most out of Google Scholar, click the 'settings' button from the main page, select the 'library links' tab, and add 'The University of Warwick'. Your searches will then show you which items you have access to through the library, and provide direct links to the specific access we can provide (i.e. through the WebBridge).

Find out more on the Library website here.

LibKey

LibKey is a suite of tools that aim to provide easy and efficient full-text access to articles.

Working in the background while you search, LibKey Discovery and LibKey Link help select the best full-text article option - including Open Access materials and Library subscribed content.

LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that provides seamless access to full-text articles while researching on the web. It works with publisher, academic and general websites (including Google Scholar, PubMed and Wikipedia). Once installed - similar to LibKey Discovery and LibKey Link - LibKey Nomad works in the background to instantly find users the best option for accessing articles and offers access to the full text.

To install LibKey Nomad on personal devices, follow the instructions here: https://thirdiron.com/downloadnomad/ 

LibKey Discovery

Alongside LibKey Discovery, LibKey Link, and LibKey Nomad, another service of LibKey is LibKey.io. LibKey.io allows researchers to seamlessly connect to library resources. LibKey.io is a dedicated webpage that allows users to search for materials by their DOI or PubMed ID. Searching for material on LibKey.io will bring up direct links to the best full-text option of the material.

The University's LibkKey.io page can be accessed through the following link: https://libkey.io/libraries/3907

Databases are the best way of finding peer-reviewed articles, scholarly books, conferences, theses and other information on your topic. Some databases enable you to search across disciplines while others are tailored to help researchers in your specific subject. 

Use our database list to explore databases for your subject or to find databases by material type. 

ScienceDirect

Explore scientific, technical, and medical research on ScienceDirect.

IEEE Xplore

Advancing Technology for Humanity

Scopus

Discover the most reliable, relevant, up-to-date research. All in one place.

Web of Science

Start a simple search from the Documents Search.