Journals are regular (serial) publications, like magazines, that publish the outcome of original research and are aimed at other researchers or scholars. They can focus on a narrow field of study.
Journal articles often cover quite narrow topics within a field. They record the state of the art so will keep up to date with the latest concepts, findings, or trends, scholarly analysis or research. Find articles using Library Search with the Articles search function.
Journal articles undergo peer-review, which is a process of review by experts in the field (peers). It is aimed at validating the research prior to publication of an article, ensuring quality, originality, contribution to the knowledge base, and authority in a research article.
Organizational Dynamics covers organizational behavior, development, HRM, and strategic management, aiming to connect advanced research with practical management applications to enhance understanding and effectiveness in organizational settings.
The Journal of Education and Work is an international academic forum that explores the relationship between education and economic systems, focusing on how knowledge, skills, and attitudes for work are developed and how transitions from education to employment are structured and managed across different contexts.
Journals and journal articles can be found using Library Search, however it does not discover content on all language/literature databases, so journal or bibliographic databases are preferred for literature searching.
Journal databases index and abstract articles in specific journals. Some are general and index journals across a range of disciplines, and others are subject specific and index only medical journals (or another discipline). Journal databases are not always full-text: some will include the full-text article, but others will provide an abstract (summary) only. If journal articles are not available, use the Library's free Get it for Me service.
Some journal databases provide citation information, which allows researcher to measure the usage and impact of articles in their research field, and to find related academic literature. Citation databases can be useful, but they are general in scope.
