Databases are the best way of finding peer-reviewed articles, scholarly books, conferences, theses and other information on your topic. Some databases enable you to search across disciplines while others are tailored to help researchers in your specific subject.
Use our database list to explore databases for your subject or to find databases by material type.
One of the best databases for indexing secondary literature from books, journals, theses etc in Modern Languages.
Linguistics and Language Behavior AbstractsCovers disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
A database of Chinese newspaper and periodical archives from Shanghai Library and part of the Library’s ‘National Newspaper index.’ It offers the publication details of the newspapers published in mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan from 1911-1949. It provides access to digitised newspapers, periodicals and documents published in the Republican period (1911-1949), which can be helpful to readers who are interested in the political, military, diplomatic, economic, educational, cultural and religious conditions in China in this period.
The entire collection of 1,200 pamphlets in c220 volumes from the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia, Cornell University Library. It is one of the oldest and most distinctive English language collections relating to China and the West and a rich source for research on Chinese history, religion, culture and everyday life. In full colour, it is full-text searchable, and includes many illustrations and covers.
A collection of English-language sources which include unique manuscript material relating to the activities and observations of British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists in China, rare periodicals, color paintings, maps, photographs and drawings depicting Chinese people, places, customs and events.
