Decolonisation and the Library: Teaching Staff
Decolonizing Higher Education
Want to get involved with embedding diverse and decolonial practice within your department, school, or faculty? See the below list of decolonising initiatives across the university:
Academic Development Centre Tackling Racial Inequality at Warwick - (Staff Development Programme)
Academic Development Centre Inclusive Pedagogies
Academic Development Centre Curriculum Design in Action (non-credit bearing CPD focused on module design as social practice.)
Governance: Race Equality Taskforce
Social Inclusion Group Projects and groups include: BAME Staff Network, Inclusion Learning, Anti-Racism Resources
Dean of Students Office Inclusive Education
WIHEA Anti-Racist Pedagogy and Process in HE Learning Circle
Faculty of Social Sciences Decolonising Social Sciences
Community Values Education Programme Say My Name Project
Toolkits and guidance for decolonising academic modules
How to Create a Culturally Inclusive Course and Beyond - Duke University
This document, written by Nicolette Cagle with input from Nicholas School of Environment students and Duke University faculty and staff, provides resources and ideas for creating a culturally inclusive learning environment. It includes information about curriculum decolonisation and a quick guide to culturally inclusive pedagogy
Decolonise your reading list - Durham University
This toolkit, provided by Durham University, provides guidance on how to critically evaluate your own reading list, how to approach decolonising your reading list, and reflecting upon changes to your reading lists.
Decolonising the Curriculum Toolkit - University of Liverpool
This toolkit provides a reflective evaluation tool for considering four different elements of your curriculum: course content, design and delivery, assessment, and belonging and engagement.
This toolkit, provided by SOAS, was co-created by SOAS academic philosophers and students. It provides an argument for why decolonising curricula is required, a guide to implementing critical pedagogy in one's teaching and learning practice, recommendations for decolonising philosophy assessments, and an example of how an epistemology module can be transformed to reflect decolonising principles.
Decolonising the Curriculum for Science and Engineering- Manchester Metropolitan University
This toolkit was developed in liaison with the university's Faculty of Science and Engineering with the aim of supporting staff in Science and Engineering to decolonise their teaching.
A self-auditing guide for Research Centres and Institutes -- applying a decolonising lens: De Montfort University
This guide, produced by De Montfort University, provides a helpful guide and prompts for critically reflecting upon the activities of a Research Centre or Institute, focusing on outputs, environment, impact and engagement, PGR training, talks and seminars, research ethics, reading groups, and research ethics.
Decolonising Education: A Reflective Toolkit - University of Birmingham
This toolkit offers a reflective starting point for decolonising education, developed in collaboration with a student group called Think Diversity.
Examples of excellent reading lists
Are you a member of teaching staff seeking inspiration on how to integrate a broad range of material into your modules?
See below for a list of exemplary reading lists from modules across the university. What constitutes exemplary practice in diverse or decolonial course design is currently under debate, so this list of lists seeks to highlight a wide variety of practice. Some of these modules place decolonial thinking, methods, or perspectives at their core. Others simply highlight diverse material through one case study or week's focus. Some focus on decolonial topics, others highlight decolonial perspectives on universal topics.
The under-representation of Black academics, particularly at senior levels, is a pressing issue both in UK higher education and at Warwick. To help tackle this, the university has established the Warwick PATHWAY Programme - a positive action programme which supports aspiring Black researchers to progress their careers.
The programme provides funding at different research career stages - from undergraduate to postdoctoral researcher - alongside opportunities to participate in networking and career information events.
The Warwick PATHWAY programme presents a clear vision of a research career trajectory and creates a community of aspiring Black researchers at Warwick across all faculties.
Need support?
Unsure of where to begin? Need support with finding materials for your research or teaching?
Contact the Research and Academic Support Librarian for your department. Their details can be found here, or you can e-mail library@warwick.ac.uk, with Research and Academic Support in the subject line.
Want to contribute to the development of collections related to your area of teaching or research?
If you want to support the library's efforts to decolonise its collections, there are two key ways you can do this. Firstly, you can make an item of reading required reading on a module, and include it on a Talis reading list. If you do that by the relevant deadlines for the term you will be teaching the module, the Library's Reading Lists team will ensure that we can facilitate appropriate access for the students on your module. Alternatively, you can suggest that we purchase a book as part of our campaign. Click the image below.
Front cover of 'Colonial Freedom News', May 1960; Papers of Jimmy Deane, Modern Records Centre, University of Warwick (MSS.325/S/20/1)
Image reproduced by permission of Modern Records Centre.
Anti-racist pedagogy and decolonisation in higher education
See the following links for useful information:
Advance HE Higher Education Race Action Group (HERAG)
Advance HE The Updated Race Equality Charter
Contact
- University of Warwick Library
Gibbet Hill Road
Coventry
CV4 7AL - Telephone: +44 (0)24 76 522026
- Email: library at warwick dot ac dot uk
- More contact details