Contact your ASL: christopher.vernon@warwick.ac.uk
Databases are the best way of finding peer-reviewed articles, scholarly books, conferences, theses and other information on your topic. Some databases enable you to search across disciplines while others are tailored to help researchers in your specific subject.
Use our database list to explore databases for your subject or to find databases by material type.
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace CollectionAdvanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection provides bibliographic coverage of research, emerging technologies, applications and companies in the areas of aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, electronics, communications, solid-state devices, and space sciences.
NASA Astrophysics Data SystemThe Astrophysics Data System consists of three databases that can be searched together or separately. The three databases cover Astronomy & Astrophysics, Physics & Geophysics and the arXiv pre-prints repository. Note that only some of the articles are available directly as full text. Search for the journal title on the Library Catalogue to check if we subscribe to full-text.
Ceramic Abstracts (ProQuest)Comprehensive database for the ceramics industry, providing international coverage on the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics. Sources covered include over 3,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases.
Institute of Physics CollectionOnline access to over 40 physics e-journals.
SPIE Digital LibraryCollection of resources available on optics and photonics, providing access to more than 230,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present.
SIMBADThe SIMBAD astronomical database provides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system. SIMBAD can be queried by object name, coordinates and various criteria. Lists of objects and scripts can be submitted. Links to some other online services are also provided.
NASA/IPAC Extragalactic DatabaseThe NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database (NED) is an online astronomy database for astronomers that collates and cross-correlates astronomical information on extragalactic objects (galaxies, quasars, radio, x-ray and infrared sources, etc.). The NED database contains positions, basic data and names for extragalactic objects, as well as bibliographic references to published papers, and notes from catalogues and other publications.
arXivarXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. Content approved for posting after moderation, but not peer-reviewed.
Engineering VillageEngineering Village is a platform that includes Compendex and Inspec databases. The two databases include Engineering journals, conference materials and technical reports on all aspects of engineering.
IEEE XploreCollection of conference proceedings, journals and magazines, and e-books in electrical engineering, computer science and related fields.
MathSciNetContains evaluative reviews and abstracts of the international research literature in mathematics, computer science, statistics, econometrics, and applications in areas such as physics, engineering, biology, and information systems.
EBSCOhostDatabase gateway that enables you to search, a selection of, or all 22 Warwick's EBSCOhost databases simultaneously.
Watch video guide on how to search | Access training materials and guides
Elsevier Read and Publish 2022-2024 (Physics and Astronomy)
The delivery platform of Elsevier Science publications with over 2000 journals and books covering the life, physical, technical, medical and social sciences and information/library studies.
ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources.
Web of ScienceWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary research platform which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases. It also offers access to research tools like citation reports and cited reference searching.
Springer MaterialsSpringer Materials gives access to the largest curated materials science database in the world, covering 290,000+ materials and 3,000+ physical and chemical properties. It also gives access to invaluable data from the Landolt-Börnstein book series, MSI Eureka and the Polymer Thermodynamics Database (ATHAS) to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields.
Springer Link contemporaryAn integrated database of journals and books published by Springer. Offers abstract searching of more than 1,250 journals.
Wiley Online LibraryWiley Online Library e-book collection and e-journal collection. A resource for quality content promoting discovery across the spectrum of scientific, technical, medical and professional endeavours.
Physical Review Online ArchiveFull text of journal articles from the American Physical Society .
Wiley Digital Archives BAAS Collection: (1830-1970) The British Association for the Advancement of Science (BAAS) and connected collections from UK universities cover a wide range of subjects. It contains historical primary resources, including administrative records, correspondence, illustrations, manuscripts, photographs, etc.
Follow the "Databases" link on the Library front page. from this link you can find databases for Chemistry as well as other subjects as well as databases covering news, patents and statistics. If you are not sure where to find the information that you are looking for, contact your Academic Support Librarian.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
