Databases are the best way of finding peer-reviewed articles, scholarly books, conferences, theses and other academic information on your topic. They help you to avoid non-scholarly sources that could be inappropriate for your assignments Some databases enable you to search across disciplines while others are tailored to help researchers in your specific subject.
Use our database list to explore databases for your subject or to find databases by material type (e.g. newspapers).
Provides access to over 2 centuries of unique and rare newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps and photographs.
Provides access to high-definition films of British theatre productions from companies including the Royal Shakespeare Company and the Old Vic.
MLA International Bibliography
One of the best databases for indexing secondary literature from books, journals, theses etc in English studies.
A very comprehensive database for literary studies, containing scholarly articles from over 1,200 journals, book reviews, chapters and books.
A huge database for English studies, with 500,000 primary works and millions of works of secondary literature from journals, monographs, and dissertations. Use for critical works, reference works, book reviews and out of copyright primary texts. It also includes:
Contains full-text access to current newspapers (1980s to present) from across the world, as well as UK national and local newspapers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Access to scanned images of newspapers, including: The New York Times, The Los Angeles Times, The Washington Post, The Times of India and Le Monde.
Includes the archives of national UK newspapers, such as the Times, the Financial Times, the Daily Mail and the London Illustrated News
Here from some Warwick students, with their tips on effective research!
Find out about the online courses we offer for all students to help develop both your wider academic skills and skills in using the Library for your research.