Subject Guides: English and Comparative Literary Studies: Home

Key Resources


Books	Journals	Databases
Search the catalogue for books and journal articles, and browse Reading Lists to find readings from your modules	Access databases of peer-reviewed journals and articles specific to your subject and specialisation	Explore the focused databases available to you to access historical data from across the world.

ProQuest One Literature

ProQuest One Literature contains all of the content that is available in the Literature Online (LION) database plus significant extra content. It contains 500,000 primary works and millions of records from journals, monographs, and dissertations. It also includes the World Literature Collection covering more than 70,000 texts by authors of over 65 nationalities from Germany to Jamaica and Venezuela to Vietnam and the Black Writing Collection covering over 500,000 pages of rare, out-of-print and in-demand works to explore every facet of the African, Caribbean and African Diasporic experience from the 18th century to the present day.

Library Search

Research and Academic Support Librarian

Your librarian is available for one-to-one appointments on-campus and online, via Teams, and can advise you on searching for, and using library resources, referencing, and managing information.

Sarah Akhtaruzzaman (she/her)

Email me

Chat on Teams

Library Online Courses

The library has a range of self-study courses to support study skills from library inductions for new students, from avoiding plagiarism to finding information for your assignments.

English: Researching Unfamiliar Concepts

These materials have been designed by former students to help you get started with researching concepts, theories and ideas that are new to you as first year English students. They are particularly relevant for Modern World Literatures, but applicable across first year English modules and beyond.