Databases are the best way of finding peer-reviewed articles, scholarly books, conferences, theses and other information on your topic. Some databases enable you to search across disciplines while others are tailored to help researchers in your specific subject.
Use our database list to explore databases for your subject or to find databases by material type.
A huge database for English studies, with 500,000 primary works and millions of works of secondary literature from journals, monographs, and dissertations. Use for critical works, reference works, book reviews and out of copyright primary texts. It also includes:
Provides access to over 2 centuries of unique and rare newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps and photographs.
Provides access to high-definition films of British theatre productions from companies including the Royal Shakespeare Company and the Old Vic.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
The TLS historical archive provides searchable access to the full text of the Times Literary Supplement from 1902 to 5 years ago. It includes more than 300,000 book reviews, letters, poems, and articles.
Women Writers Online is a complete set of digital texts from the Women Writers Project now based at Northeastern University, Boston, USA. This collection contains works by pre-Victorian women writers including 100 Renaissance texts. Among the types of primary sources included in this collection are: poems, letters, essays, book chapters and plays.
Find out about the online courses we offer for all students to help develop both your wider academic skills and skills in using the Library for your research.
Women Wrtiers Online