Economics, Psychology and Philosophy: Books

The Economics, Psychology and Philosophy book collections are arranged by subject classification in the Library. 

• Economics: H (5th floor)
• Psychology: B (3rd floor)
• Philosophy: B (3rd floor)

Most of our print books can be borrowed. If the book you want is on loan, you can place a hold on it and you will get an email when it comes back. Additionally, ebooks are available via Library Search.

Reading Lists

Use our online reading lists to find key readings for your modules. Link directly to books, ebooks, book chapters, journal articles and other resources.

Very Short Introductions
A collection of 800+ ebooks from Oxford University Press providing concise introductions to subjects across all academic disciplines, including 35+ economics, 50+ psychology, and 120+ philosophy titles. Written for undergraduate students, each book introduces key concepts and essential knowledge in the field.

Oxford Bibliographies
A guide to scholarly literature across many academic disciplines, including psychology and philosophy. Written for students and researchers of all levels, the articles combine encyclopaedia essays and annotated bibliographies.

Oxford Handbooks Online
A collection of 1,000+ ebooks from Oxford University Press providing authoritative essays across all academic disciplines, including 75+ economics, 200+ psychology and 100+ philosophy titles. Written for students and researchers of all levels, each essay introduces key concepts, current research and future debates.

Oxford Scholarship Online
A large collection of research monographs and other scholarly publications from Oxford University Press. Featuring 1,400+ psychology and 4,000+ philosophy titles, and a smaller collections economics titles too.

APA Handbooks
A collection of 100 ebooks on psychology published by the American Psychological Association including the prestigious APA Handbooks series.

Cambridge Companions Online
The Cambridge Companions to Philosophy and Religion collection features 250+ ebooks from Cambridge University Press. Written for students and researchers of all levels, each title features authoritative guides to key philosophers and philosophy topics.

Past Masters
A collection of full-text primary sources, including the complete works/letters/journals of some key individual authors. Includes scholarly complete editions or selections from classical texts in philosophy, politics, and economics.

New Palgrave Dictionary
of Economics

Oxford Dictionary
of Economics

Oxford Dictionary
of Finance and Banking

Oxford Dictionary
of Psychology

Cambridge Dictionary
of Philosophy

Oxford Dictionary
of Philosophy

Oxford Research Encyclopaedia in Economics and Finance

Oxford Encyclopaedia of
Economic History

Sage Encyclopaedia of
Economics and Society

Oxford Research Encyclopaedia in Psychology

Wiley Encyclopedia
of Health Psychology

Internet Encyclopedia
of Philosophy

Oxford Companion
to Philosophy

Stanford Encyclopaedia
of Philosophy