Databases are structured collections of information. Each record on a database describes a piece of information. This metadata (data about data) may include an index and abstract.
The index includes bibliographic information e.g. author/title, and subject/keyword classification, and the abstract is a summary of the information.
Some databases include full-text information, and the document or data can be downloaded from the database. Other databases are abstract only, with the full-text being available from another database or via document supply services.
Bibliographic databases index scholarly information and they can be used to find articles, books, chapters and dissertations. Bibliographic databases can be multidisciplinary or subject specialist.
Primary source databases are collections of original documents e.g. newspaper archives, official publications or law databases. While often considered historical sources, they can also include contemporary documents.
Statistical databases are collections of numeric information e.g. economic and financial data. Databases can be searched (screened) to create reports and charts, and underlying data downloaded for further analysis in statistical software.
Meta databases are databases that search other databases. Library Search and Google are meta databases.
PhilPapers
An index of research literature in philosophy including 2,800,000+ journal articles, books and open access archives. Also includes a structured bibliography of 5,000+ topics in philosophy, and a current awareness service alerting researchers to new publications.
Philosopher's Index
Index to scholarly research on philosophy from 1940 to date, including books and articles from 680+ philosophy journals. Published by the Philosopher's Information Centre.
See Philosophy Subject Guide for more database recommendations
International Political Science Abstract
Index to scholarly journal articles on political science published from 1989 to date. Includes political science, political sociology, political psychology, international relations, international law, human rights, conflict studies, ethnic studies and other related fields.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes 2,500 worldwide political science (and related subjects) journals, books and dissertations from 1975. Includes economics, environment, government, international relations, military, law and religion
Europa World Plus
Country, regional and organisational profiles from Europa World Year Book and Regional Surveys of the World. Includes geographic, demographic, social, political and economic statistics and reports, plus directories on government, society and business. Search or browse by region, country or international organisation. Also access comparative statistics for countries and regions.
TheyWorkForYou
Follow the work of UK politicians in parliament using open access data from Parliament.UK.
See Politics and International Studies Subject Guide for more database recommendations
EconLit
Bibliographic database for economics and finance. Indexes 1,000+ economics and finance journals, working papers, dissertations and books using Journal of Economic Literature classification scheme. Includes full-text articles from over 600 journals, including American Economic Association titles.
Business Source Ultimate
Bibliographic database for business, economics, finance, management and marketing. Includes selected full-text journal articles, case studies, country/region, industry and company reports.
Statista
A global market research and consumer data portal featuring 170+ industries from 50+ countries.
Capital IQ
Global company and financial markets database from S&P Global. Includes financial information for 62,000 public and 4,400,000 private companies. Also includes financial markets information including stock prices, valuations, interest rates, foreign exchange, and commodities.
Fame | Orbis | Orbis Bank Focus
Company information databases from Moody's (formerly Bureau van Dijk). Fame covers 11 million companies in the UK and Ireland, Orbis covers 450 million companies worldwide, and Orbis Bank Focus covers 46 million banks worldwide.
Finaeon (Global Financial Data)
Historical time-series macroeconomic, financial markets and global development data.
IMF Data | IMF Data Portal
Find macroeconomic and financial data including World and Regional Economic Outlooks (GDP, import/exports employment, government finance, balance of payments) and International Financial Statistics (GDP, exchange rates, interest rates).
UK Data Service
Find key sources of international macrodata from the UN and OECD including IEA Energy, IMF Balance of Payments, IMF International Financial Statistics, IMF World Economic Outlook, OECD Economic Indicators, World Bank Development Indicators.
World Bank Open Data | World Bank DataBank
Find macroeconomic data by country and indicator. Including economic indicators e,g, GDP, GNI, inflation and employment; and social indicators e.g. birth, death and mortality rates, life expectancy, education, literacy, and health.
See Economics Subject Guide for more database recommendations
Economist.com | Economist Historical Archive
Online daily edition of The Economist newspaper on international current affairs, business and politics. First time users, click on 'Login' and 'Register Now' with your @warwick.ac.uk email. Afterwards, login is via email address and password. Download the Economist app from Apple or Android stores. Also historical archive of the weekly edition of The Economist (1843-2020).
FT.com | Financial Times Historical Archive
Online daily edition of the Financial Times (London) newspaper. First time users, complete data privacy agreement and FT registration. Afterwards, login is via the university's single sign on authentication. Download the FT.com Business News app from Apple or Android stores. Also, historical archive of the daily edition of the Financial Times (1888-2021).
Project Syndicate
Non-profit global media organisation with a focus on world current affairs, economics and politics.
Gale Research Complete
Gale OneFile News is a newspaper database which includes full-text local, regional and national newspapers and magazines from the UK and across the world. Includes general current affairs (tabloid and broadsheet) newspapers, and business and finance magazines.
Full-text titles include Coventry Telegraph, Daily Mail (London), Daily Telegraph and Sunday Telegraph (London), Daily Telegraph and Sunday Telegraph (Sydney), Economist (London), Guardian and Observer (London), Financial Times (London), Independent (London), London Evening Standard, Mirror and Sunday Mirror (London), New York Times, South China Morning Post (Hong Kong), Times and Sunday Times (London), Times of India (Mumbai), and Washington Post.
Nexis Uni
Newspaper database which includes full-text local, regional and national newspapers, newswires and magazines from the UK and across the world. Includes general current affairs (tabloid and broadsheet newspapers) and business, finance and legal magazines.
Major full-text newspaper titles include Coventry Telegraph, Daily Mail (London), Daily Telegraph and Sunday Telegraph (London), Daily Telegraph and Sunday Telegraph (Sydney), Guardian and Observer (London), Financial Times (London), Independent (London), Investor's Chronicle, London Evening Standard, Mirror and Sunday Mirror (London), New Statesman, New York Times, South China Morning Post (Hong Kong), Times and Sunday Times (London), Times of India (Mumbai), and USA Today.
Historical Newspaper Archives
The library has historical newspaper archives for many major newspaper titles, including:
See Newspaper Databases A-Z for a complete list of historical newspaper databases
UK Parliament | Public Information Online | UK Parliamentary Papers
Official website of the UK Parliament with all official publications including Bills, Reports, Hansard. Historical publications are available via the Public Information Online and UK Parliamentary Papers databases.
UK Government | UK Government Web Archive | The National Archives
Official website of the UK Government including agencies and departments, news and communications, research and statistics. Older versions of government websites available via UK Government Web Archives from 1996. Catalogue of historical publications (official archive) available via The National Archives.
British History Online | State Papers Online
Historical digital archives of British official publications dating from c16th. British History Online includes Parliamentary Rolls of Medieval England, Calendars of Close Rolls, Patent Rolls and State Papers. State Papers Online includes domestic and foreign state papers from Tudor and Stuart/Commonwealth eras, and Eighteenth Century domestic, military and naval state papers.
Europa | EU Parliament | EU Web Archive
Europa is the official websites of the European Union, including membership, leadership, institutions and publications. The EU Parliament website include current publications, with historical materials available from 1996 in the EU Web Archive.
United Nations | UN Official Documents System | UN Digital Library
Official website of the United Nations, including General Assembly, Security Council and other main bodies. The UN Official Documents System is a search engine to find official publications, with other UN documents including votes and speeches available via the UN Digital Library.
See Official Publications Subject Guide for a complete list of official publications databases
Discover a range of library and study skills guides including how to study at university, how to think critically, and how to write essays and prepare for examinations.
Discover how to avoid plagiarism, how to use the Harvard referencing style, and how to manage references with EndNote referencing software.
Discover the library's research support services for research students and staff including literature searching, research data, open access publishing, and research metrics.