Contact your RASL: christopher.vernon@warwick.ac.uk
Databases are the best way of finding peer-reviewed articles, scholarly books, conferences, theses and other information on your topic. Some databases enable you to search across disciplines while others are tailored to help researchers in your specific subject.
Use our database list to explore databases for your subject or to find databases by material type.
Construction Information ServiceLegislation, standards and guidance material covering building, civil and structural engineering, mechanical and electrical engineering, construction and facilities management.
British Standards OnlineBritish Standards Online provides details of ten's of thousands of current, draft and withdrawn standards from the UK's national standards body, the British Standards Institute (BSI). Many of the standards, including adopted European and international standards are available in full text. From June 2023, access is also available to the full Collections of Unadopted ISO's.
Mechanical and Transportation Engineering AbstractsDetails of articles on transportation systems engineering for industrial and management purposes
Mechanical Engineering AbstractsDetails of journal articles on mechanical and production engineering and engineering management
SAE MOBILUSThe SAE Digital Library is a repository of technical content for all forms of vehicle technology. All types of land, sea, air and space vehicles are covered by the literature. The database contains full-text technical papers, Magazines, journals from 2008-2022 and EDGE reports from 1998 to the present.
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection provides bibliographic coverage of research, emerging technologies, applications and companies in the areas of aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, electronics, communications, solid-state devices, and space sciences.
ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering (ProQuest)
ANTE is an abstracting and indexing service monitoring publications from the U.K. and the U.S. Coverage includes new technologies such as information technology and computing, electronics, biotechnology, medical technology, as well as engineering (including construction, electrical and chemical engineering) and allied subject areas. Sources covered include over 350 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases.
Aluminium Industry Abstracts (ProQuest)Aluminium Industry Abstracts (AIA), formerly World Aluminum Abstracts (WAA), provides comprehensive coverage of the world's technical literature on aluminium, production processes, products, applications, and business developments. Sources covered include over 3,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases.
Ceramic Abstracts (ProQuest)Comprehensive database for the ceramics industry, providing international coverage on the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics. Sources covered include over 3,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases.
METADEXInformation on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development
ASCE Research LibraryThe ASCE Research Library contains articles across all disciplines of civil engineering. Warwick subscribes to a selection of these e-journals and these are also available individually in the Library catalogue.
Civil Engineering Abstracts (ProQuest)ProQuest / ASCE Civil Engineering Abstracts covers civil engineering and its complementary fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics and computation. Sources covered include over 3,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases.
ICE Virtual Library (E-book platform)E-book platform from ICE Publishing. Covers civil engineering and construction. Warwick subscribes to approximately 370 titles which are highlighted with an orange icon for subscribed content. Access is also available via individual titles in the Library catalogue.
Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts
This database provides bibliographic coverage of ground-breaking research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.
Biotechnology Research AbstractsBiotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts provides access to international research on all aspects of biochemical, medical, and microbial technology as applied to bioengineering, medicine, agriculture and environmental science. Biochemical engineers, fermentation technologists, enzyme technologists, microbiologists, environmental engineers, food processing specialists, pharmacists, physicians, research scientists, and other professionals who work within these areas can turn to this database for up-to-date perspectives on new developments and applications in their fields.
Earthquake Engineering AbstractsIndex of journal articles in the area of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation. Sources covered include over 3,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases.
Environmental Engineering AbstractsDetails of journal articles relating to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production
GreenFILEA research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources. Consists of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.
Watch video guide on how to search | Access training materials and guides
IEEE XploreCollection of conference proceedings, journals and magazines, and e-books in electrical engineering, computer science and related fields.
Engineering Village is a platform that includes Compendex and Inspec databases. The two databases include Engineering journals, conference materials and technical reports on all aspects of engineering.
Elsevier Read and Publish 2022-2024 (Engineering)The delivery platform of Elsevier Science publications with over 2000 journals and books covering the life, physical, technical, medical and social sciences and information/library studies.
Ergonomics Abstracts OnlineDatabase gateway that enables you to search, a selection of, or all 22 Warwick's EBSCOhost databases simultaneously.
Watch video guide on how to search | Access training materials and guides
Nature SustainabilityNature Sustainability is an online-only monthly journal that publishes the best research about sustainability from the natural and social sciences, as well as from the fields of engineering and policy.
SciFinderContains scientific information in journals and patent literature from around the world, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, material science, and agricultural science.
ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources.
Springer MaterialsSpringer Materials gives access to the largest curated materials science database in the world, covering 290,000+ materials and 3,000+ physical and chemical properties. It also gives access to invaluable data from the Landolt-Börnstein book series, MSI Eureka and the Polymer Thermodynamics Database (ATHAS) to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields.
StatistaStatista provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
Web of ScienceWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary research platform which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases. It also offers access to research tools like citation reports and cited reference searching.
Esp@cenet (European Patent Office)The European Patent Office's Esp@acenet provides detailed searching of EPO, PC, US and other patent applications. Some older patents may be searchable only by patent number. Full text of patents and applications is available as PDF files.
Institution of Engineering and Technology (E-book platform)
IET Digital Library e-books cover all the key areas of engineering and technology. Warwick only has access to titles published from 2009 to 2013.
Wiley Digital Archives BAAS Collection: (1830-1970) The British Association for the Advancement of Science (BAAS) and connected collections from UK universities cover a wide range of subjects. It contains historical primary resources, including administrative records, correspondence, illustrations, manuscripts, photographs, etc.
Sage Research Methods: Cases 1 & 2 SAGE Research Methods Cases focus on how users can search cases by keywords to find projects on similar topics to their own to find inspiration on the best methods to use. Because each case examines successes and struggles faced over the course of the project, users will also learn how researchers need to make constant decisions throughout the course of their study and pivot when a method or data source is not working out.
Follow the "Databases" link on the Library front page. from this link you can find databases for Chemistry as well as other subjects as well as databases covering news, patents and statistics. If you are not sure where to find the information that you are looking for, contact your Academic Support Librarian.
Access the Engineering Database
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
Engineering Village