Institute for Employment Research: Books

The social sciences book collections are arranged by subject classification in the Library. 

• Business: HF (5th floor)
• Economics: HB (5th floor)
• Finance: HJ (5tth floor)
• Industry & Labour: HD (5th floor)
• Law: K (4th floor)
• Politics: J (5th floor)

Most of our print books can be borrowed. If the book you want is on loan, you can place a hold on it and you will get an email when it comes back. Additionally, ebooks are available via Library Search.

Get It For Me

For items not available in the library, use our document supply service for digitisations and inter-library loans.

You can request library books using the Books order form in Get It For Me, or email Jackie Hanes, your Research and Academic Support Librarian.

The library will either buy a new copy for our collection, or borrow a copy as an inter-library loan. As a 'digital first' library, we now buy ebooks in preference to print. Please let us know if you require a print copy. Ebooks are generally available quickly (1 week), whereas print books can take longer (4 weeks).

Very Short Introductions
A collection of 800+ ebooks from Oxford University Press providing concise introductions to subjects across all academic disciplines, including 18 business, 35+ economics, 100+ politics titles. Written for undergraduate students, each book introduces key concepts and essential knowledge in the field.

Oxford Bibliographies
A guide to scholarly literature across many academic disciplines, including management. Written for students and researchers of all levels, the articles combine encyclopaedia essays and annotated bibliographies.

Oxford Handbooks Online
A collection of 1,000+ ebooks from Oxford University Press providing authoritative essays across all academic disciplines, including 80+ business, 80+ economics and 150+ politics titles. Written for students and researchers of all levels, each essay introduces key concepts, current research and future debates.

Oxford Scholarship Online
A large collection of research monographs and other scholarly publications from Oxford University Press. Featuring thousands of titles in business, economics and politics.

Lexis+ UK: Employment Law
A collection of books and journals, legislation and case law, and practical guidance in the Lexis+ UK employment law practice area. Key works include Butterworths Employment Law Handbook, and Harvey on Industrial Relations and Employment Law.

Oxford Dictionary of
Business and Management

Oxford Dictionary
of Economics

Oxford Dictionary
of Finance and Banking

Oxford Dictionary of
Human Resource Management

Oxford Dictionary of
Law

Oxford Dictionary of
Organizational Behaviour

Oxford Research Encyclopaedia in Economics and Finance

Oxford Encyclopaedia of
Economic History

Sage Encyclopaedia of
Economics and Society

Sweet & Maxwell's
Encyclopedia of
Employment Law