Renaissance Studies: Home

Gale Primary Sources provides access to nearly 6 centuries of unique and rare newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps and photographs across 26 different subject databases. It provides a range of discovery routes through detailed subject indexing, interactive tools and enriched data, with cross searching of these key primary source databases.

AM Explorer will allow you to search across all of the AM unique primary source collections in a single search.

Proquest Databases

All collections on the Proquest platform can be crossed searched, including the primary source collections.

For best results, use the Source Types filter on the main search page and choose the type of material you're looking for, for example: Archival Materials; Historical Newspapers; Historical Periodicals; Pamphlets & Ephemeral Works for primary source material.

Iter Bibliography

Iter’s Bibliography, the largest and most comprehensive online discovery tool, comprised of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400–1700). Citations for books and journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts, and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias, and exhibition catalogues).

Your librarian is available for one-to-one appointments on-campus and online, via Teams, and can advise you on searching for, and using library resources, referencing, and managing information.

Andy Calvert

Email me

Chat on Teams

Drop-in support in the FAB 2.25: Wednesdays 1-2pm (term time)

Library online courses

Find out about the online courses we offer for all students to help develop both your wider academic skills and skills in using the Library for your research.