Journals are generally more current than books and more specific in their focus. Many academic journals are peer-reviewed, meaning they are evaluated by other experts in the same field before publication. This makes them a good quality source of academic information.
You can access thousands of journals through the Library, most of these online: we subscribe to over 67,000 journals electronically.
Google Scholar
broadly searches the web for scholarly literature across disciplines and source types: journal articles, theses etc. from publisher websites and institutional repositories.
Find out more on the Library website here.
Library databases will often show a link to the PDF or full text of the article which you can download or print. However, there may be occasions where the full text is not available from within the particular database you are searching
In this case you will need to click on the WebBridge link or icon 
WebBridge searches across our other databases and subscriptions to try and locate the article for you. Our finding full text guide 
shows you how WebBridge works
A humanities and social science journal archive that has strong covereage of history by place, period and theme.
Journals database of scholarly titles in the humanities and social sciences, covering history, culture and society.
International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance (IBHR)
The International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance (IBHR) is the international reference bibliography of academic publications on the Renaissance and the early modern period.
International Medieval Bibliography
The International Medieval Bibliography with the aims to provide a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide.
Project Muse