Skip to Main Content

Politics, Philosophy and Law: Databases

Politics, Philosophy and Law

Sandstone coloured seating in an amphitheatre overlaid with text Politics, Philosophy and Law

Databases

Databases are structured collections of information. Each record on a database describes a piece of information. This metadata (data about data) may include an index and abstract.

The index includes bibliographic information e.g. author/title, and subject/keyword classification, and the abstract is a summary of the information.

Some databases include full-text information, and the document or data can be downloaded from the database. Other databases are abstract only, with the full-text being available from another database or via document supply services.

Types of Database

Bibliographic databases index scholarly information and they can be used to find articles, books, chapters and dissertations. Bibliographic databases can be multidisciplinary or subject specialist.

Primary source databases are collections of original documents e.g. newspaper archives, official publications or law databases. While often considered historical sources, they can also include contemporary documents.

Statistical databases are collections of numeric information e.g. economic and financial data. Databases can be searched (screened) to create reports and charts, and underlying data downloaded for further analysis in statistical software.

Meta databases are databases that search other databases. Library Search and Google are meta databases.

Subject Databases

Proquest logoWorldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes 2,500 worldwide political science (and related subjects) journals, books and dissertations from 1975. Includes economics, environment, government, international relations, military, law and religion

Ovid logoInternational Political Science Abstract
Index to scholarly journal articles on political science published from 1989 to date. Includes political science, political sociology, political psychology, international relations, international law, human rights, conflict studies, ethnic studies and other related fields.

Europa World Yearbook logoEuropa World Plus 
Country, regional and organisational profiles from Europa World Year Book and Regional Surveys of the World. Includes geographic, demographic, social, political and economic statistics and reports, plus directories on government, society and business. Search or browse by region, country or international organisation. Also access comparative statistics for countries and regions.

They Work For You logoTheyWorkForYou
Follow the work of UK politicians in parliament using open access data from Parliament.UK. 

See Politics and International Studies Subject Guide for more database recommendations

PhilPapers logoPhilPapers
An index of research literature in philosophy including 2,800,000+ journal articles, books and open access archives. Also includes a structured bibliography of 5,000+ topics in philosophy, and a current awareness service alerting researchers to new publications.

EBSCO logoPhilosopher's Index
Index to scholarly research on philosophy from 1940 to date, including books and articles from 680+ philosophy journals. Published by the Philosopher's Information Centre.

See Philosophy Subject Guide for more database recommendations

LexisNexis iconLexis+ UK
A legal research and practical guidance databases from LexisNexis, including primary and secondary sources of legal information for the UK and EU, and selected foreign jurisdictions.

Key features include: a law encyclopaedia (Halsbury's Laws of England), UK legislation and case law (including The Law Reports and All England Law Reports), a journals index and selected full-text journal articles (including New Law Journal), specialist legal encyclopaedias and practitioner texts, and legal practice guidance including overviews, practice notes and standard forms.

 

Thomson Reuters logoWestlaw UK
A legal research database from Thomson Reuters including primary and secondary sources of legal information and current awareness services for the UK and EU, and selected foreign jurisdictions.

Key features of the database include: law dictionaries (Index of Legal Terms), a law encyclopaedia (Topics), UK and EU legislation and case law (including The Law Reports and Weekly Law Reports), the legal journals index and selected full-text articles (including Law Quarterly Review), and selected law encyclopaedias and practitioner texts.

 

BAILII iconBritish and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII)
BAILII (Bailey) is an open access law database which includes full-text primary and secondary sources of legal information. It is best known for coverage of case law, and holds the decisions of the senior courts and many tribunals. 

 

The National Archives logoLegislation.Gov.UK
The official open access website of UK legislation from 1267 to the current day from The National Archives. Includes Statutes and Statutory Instruments from England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. 

 

European Union flagEUR-Lex
The official website of European Union, including treaties, legislation, case law and information and notices from the Official Journal (OJ).

 

CURIA logoCourt of Justice of the European Union (CURIA)
CURIA is the official website of the CJEU, including case law from the Court of Justice and the General Court (European Court Reports).

 

European Court of Human Rights logoEuropean Court of Human Rights (HUDOC)
HUDOC is a database of ECtHR case law, including judgments, decisions and advisory opinions. ECtHR is the judicial arm of the Council of Europe.

 

United Nations logoUnited Nations Treaty Series (UNTS)
The UN's official treaty database. Full text of 560+ United Nations multilateral treaties, including signatories, reservations, communications and entry into force.

 

HeinOnline logoHeinOnline
Legal research database including World Constitutions IllustratedIndex to Foreign Legal Periodicals, full-text law journals from foreign jurisdictions, and strong collections of American and Canadian legislation and case law.

 

Wolters Kluwer logoKluwer Arbitration
A collection of books and journals, conventions and treaties, and awards and court decisions on international arbitration, including Redfern and Hunter on International Arbitration and International Council for Commercial Arbitration handbooks, yearbooks and other publications.

 

OUP iconOxford Public International Law (OPIL)
Collection of research information on public international law including Oxford Reports on International Law (ORIL)Max Planck Encyclopaedias of International Law (MPEIL), and Oxford Scholarly Authorities in International Law (OSAIL).

 

See Law Subject Guide for more database recommendations

Other Databases

Economist logEconomist.com | Economist Historical Archive
Online daily edition of The Economist newspaper on international current affairs, business and politics. First time users, click on 'Login' and 'Register Now' with your @warwick.ac.uk email. Afterwards, login is via email address and password. Download the Economist app from Apple or Android stores. Also historical archive of the weekly edition of The Economist (1843-2020). 

Financial Times logoFT.com | Financial Times Historical Archive
Online daily edition of the Financial Times (London) newspaper. First time users, complete data privacy agreement and FT registration. Afterwards, login is via the university's single sign on authentication. Download the FT.com Business News app from Apple or Android stores. Also, historical archive of the daily edition of the Financial Times (1888-2021).

Project Syndicate logoProject Syndicate 
Non-profit global media organisation with a focus on world current affairs, economics and politics.

Gale logoGale Research Complete
Gale OneFile News is a newspaper database which includes full-text local, regional and national newspapers and magazines from the UK and across the world. Includes general current affairs (tabloid and broadsheet) newspapers, and business and finance magazines.

Full-text titles include Coventry Telegraph, Daily Mail (London), Daily Telegraph and Sunday Telegraph (London), Daily Telegraph and Sunday Telegraph (Sydney), Economist (London), Guardian and Observer (London), Financial Times (London), Independent (London), London Evening Standard, Mirror and Sunday Mirror (London), New York Times, South China Morning Post (Hong Kong), Times and Sunday Times (London), Times of India (Mumbai), and Washington Post. 

Lexis Nexis logoNexis Uni
Newspaper database which includes full-text local, regional and national newspapers, newswires and magazines from the UK and across the world. Includes general current affairs (tabloid and broadsheet newspapers) and business, finance and legal magazines.

Major full-text newspaper titles include Coventry Telegraph, Daily Mail (London), Daily Telegraph and Sunday Telegraph (London), Daily Telegraph and Sunday Telegraph (Sydney), Guardian and Observer (London), Financial Times (London), Independent (London), Investor's Chronicle, London Evening Standard, Mirror and Sunday Mirror (London), New Statesman, New York Times, South China Morning Post (Hong Kong), Times and Sunday Times (London), Times of India (Mumbai), and USA Today.

See Newspaper Databases A-Z for a complete list of historical newspaper databases

UK parliament logo (portculis)UK Parliament | Public Information Online | UK Parliamentary Papers 
Official website of the UK Parliament with all official publications including Bills, Reports, Hansard. Historical publications are available via the Public Information Online and UK Parliamentary Papers databases.

 

UK Government logo (Crown)UK Government | UK Government Web Archive | The National Archives
Official website of the UK Government including agencies and departments, news and communications, research and statistics. Older versions of government websites available via UK Government Web Archives from 1996. Catalogue of historical publications (official archive) available via The National Archives.

 

British History OnlneBritish History Online | State Papers Online
Historical digital archives of British official publications dating from c16th. British History Online includes Parliamentary Rolls of Medieval England, Calendars of Close Rolls, Patent Rolls and State Papers. State Papers Online includes domestic and foreign state papers from Tudor and Stuart/Commonwealth eras, and Eighteenth Century domestic, military and naval state papers.

 

European Union logoEuropa | EU Parliament | EU Web Archive
Europa is the official websites of the European Union, including membership, leadership, institutions and publications. The EU Parliament website include current publications, with historical materials available from 1996 in the EU Web Archive.

 

United Nations logoUnited Nations | UN Official Documents System | UN Digital Library
Official website of the United Nations, including General Assembly, Security Council and other main bodies. The UN Official Documents System is a search engine to find official publications, with other UN documents including votes and speeches available via the UN Digital Library

 

See Official Publications Subject Guide for a complete list of official publications databases