ARTbibliographies Modern Indexes journal articles, books, and exhibition catalogues relating to modern and contemporary arts from the 1890s. The comprehensive abstracts provided make it an excellent source for information on artists, art movements, art history and theory, design, photography, and crafts. Good coverage of all traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing. Includes publications since 1974.
Art Full TextFull text coverage from 1997 onwards, indexing from 1984. Subjects covered include the visual arts, architecture, archaeology, art history, design, fashion, film, television and video. International coverage. Art reproductions included in the content are indexed separately. Includes the Art Abstracts database.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire de la Litterature de l'Art (RILA)The Getty Institute provides free access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire de la Litterature de l'Art (RILA) providing a comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of Western art from late antiquity to the present. Broad in scope, BHA and RILA encompasses fine arts-painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, and architecture-as well as decorative and applied arts-crafts, graphic arts, folk, and popular art.
Courtauld Books OnlinePeer reviewed open access publications detailing art history and conservation research from The Courtauld Institute of Art. Includes an events' archive and recent recordings.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)A source of abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. Surveys disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
Ergonomics Abstracts OnlineDetails of journal articles, books and other resources relating to ergonomics across a range of subject areas.
Grove Art OnlineAccess to Grove Dictionary Online including more than 30,000 articles spanning ancient to contemporary art and architecture plus more than 7,000 images of works of art, from such outstanding organizations as the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA)The definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art and the successor to the Biblioghraphy of the History of Art (BHA). The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, and will grow by 18,000 records per year, providing unbroken coverage of journals that were indexed in BHA and IBA prior to 2010.
Publications covered include at least 500 core journals, with an emphasis on specialist and rare titles that are not covered by other indexes, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues.
International Medieval BibliographyDetails of publications across all subjects relating to the Middle Ages 400-1500 AD
Iter GatewayInterdisciplinary coverage of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400 - 1700). Includes a full-text journal collection and access to the Iter Bibliography and the Iter Italicum. Iter Bibliography is a massive bibliography of more than 1.1 million citations for secondary source material about the European Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700.
Manchester GothicA collection of gothic literature including 48 e-books and the official journal of the International Gothic Association, Gothic Studies (1999-2018). Content is written by leading names in the field, such as Sam George, Bill Hughes, Catherine Spooner, Hannah Priest, Richard Hand and Robert Miles, covering literature, film, television, theatre and visual arts, dating from the eighteenth century to the present day.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. A citation index allows you to trace how many times an article has been referenced.
Hosted in Web of Science. Choose Editions > Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) from the home page to search the index.
Humanities IndexHumanities Index, formerly known as British Humanities Index is a general index in the arts and humanities, containing annotated references from humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.
JSTORJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images and primary sources in 75 disciplines. The journal articles are from the archives of 2,800 academic journals, but do not include the latest issues. ARTSTOR images can now be found within JSTOR.
Project MUSEE- journal and e-book platform offering access to scholarly titles from several American university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Those e-journals Warwick has access to are marked with a green ticked circle. When browsing subject collections use the 'Only content I have full access to box'. Warwick has access to the Project Muse open access e-books.
Databases for Art History provide access to a huge range of images, primary and secondary sources online. They allow you to search and access material without having to travel to archives and can bring material from across different archives together under a theme. They can also provide character recognition, full-text search, transcripts along with supporting contextual analysis, accompanying essays or tools such as timelines to help you make sense of the material you are working with.