Newspapers are a good source for reviews of exhibitions, reporting on art and art-related events and for understanding life and ideas during a particular time period.
Artforum Archive (1962-2020)The backfile of Artforum (later Artforum International), the leading magazine for coverage of international contemporary art, from its launch in 1962 to 2020. Spanning six decades of reporting on art in all media, Artforum offers features, reviews, and interviews relating to artists, exhibitions, publications, and other art world events/trends.
British Library NewspapersLocal and regional newspapers from the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. This collection illuminates diverse and distinct regional attitudes, cultures, and vernaculars, providing an alternative viewpoint to the London-centric national press over a period of more than 200 years.
British Periodicals Collection I & II (1680s - 1930s)Searchable full-text database of British periodicals from their origin in the 1680s through to the 1930s, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Subjects covered include archaeology, architecture, art, the fine arts, drama, history, literature, music, philosophy, science and the social sciences.
Burlington magazine online indexThe Burlington Magazine Online Index is a web-based art-historical database holding all the editorial content of The Burlington Magazine - articles, letters, reviews, calendars and its illustrations are indexed. It is updated quarterly and currently covers the period 1903-1992. Work on more recent years is in progress. The Online Index is free to use, subject to free registration. Full-text access to more recent years is also available via JSTOR.
17th-18th Century Burney Collection NewspapersThe largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The collection totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles, including the Tatler (1709-1711); the Spectator (1711-1712); English provincial titles, Irish newspapers, Scottish ones from 1708 onwards, and many 18th-century American ones too, including the New England Courant.
Daily Mail Historical Archive (1896-2004)The Daily Mail Historical Archive includes more than one hundred years of this major UK national newspaper, viewable in full digital facsimile form, with copious advertisements, news stories, and images that capture twentieth-century culture and society.
Eighteenth Century Journals : a portal to newspapers and periodicals, c1685-1815.This brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003)The world's first illustrated weekly newspaper, it revolutionised journalism and news reporting. Presents a vivid picture of British and world events; wars and other disasters, royalty, social affairs, the arts and science. Access to the entire run from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003.
The Independent Digital Archive (1986-2016)Digital facsimilie of this popular UK daily national newspaper from its beginning in 1986. Unique in being free from any party political affiliation.
17th-18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection Digitised newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsheets covering the period 1672-1737. The collection charts the history of the development of the press in England and provides invaluable insight into seventeenth and eighteenth century England.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003)Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Strand Magazine : An illustrated monthlyA popular illustrated periodical from 1891-1922.
The Times & The Sunday TimesAnalysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large since 1822. The Times Archive can be accessed via: Times Digital Archive (1785-2012). The Sunday Times Digital Archive can be accessed via: The Sunday Times Archive (1822-2016).
Europresse.com (3 simultaneous users only. Please log out when finished)Europresse provides access to more than 6,200 sources covering current events on the local, regional, national and international scenes. Sources include: Newspapers, Trade publications, Corporate histories and profiles, News wires, Radio and television programme transcripts, Selected blogs, Indexed web sites, and Reports.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Le Monde (1944 - 2000)Written in the French language and covering leading issues and events, like World War II and the Fifth Republic, to French, European and international politics, society and business, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Le Monde reveals the day-to-day news coverage valued by researchers. Coverage: 1944 - 2000.
Hemeroteca Digital/Digital Periodical and Newspaper Library (from 1637)The Hemeroteca Digital is a digitized collection of historic newspapers, housed by the National Library of Spain. It contains over 1,000 titles and nearly 5,000,000 pages.
EUscreenDiscover Europe's television heritage. EUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s until today.
Journaux de la Révolution de 1848 (Newspapers of the French Revolution 1848)This series captures the British Library's holdings of all newspaper and periodical titles published in France during the revolution of 1848. Coverage is continued to the establishment of the Second Empire in 1852. Specific titles cover aspects of 19th-century French life.
La France pendant la guerre 1939-1945: Résistance et journaux de Vichy (Voices from Wartime France 1939-1945: Clandestine Resistance and Vichy Newspapers)Providing perspectives from both the Vichy government and the resistance movement, this unique collection constitutes the sum of the French press that actually reached Britain during the Occupation of 1940-44. It is the record of what was known by the British about the hearts and minds of the French people during the period.
ANNO-Austrian Newspapers Online (1689 - 1948)Austrian Newspapers Online (ANNO) is a project run by the Austrian National Library (Österreichische Nationalbibliothek) for the conservation of historic newspapers.
This resource grants users access to curated collections of newspapers, journals, and magazines from 1631 onward.
Historic German Newspapers and Journals OnlineIncludes different collections of historical German newspapers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post (1877 - 2007)This historical newspaper provides online, searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times (1881-2015)Daily newspaper published in Los Angeles. Searchable full text from 1881 up until 2015.
March of Time (1935-1967)The March of Time is Times Inc.'s unique and controversial newsreel series covering the period 1935-1967 available in online streaming video via a single, cross-searchable collection.
Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation (1690 - 1876)Explore the nation's past in unprecedented ways.
Amateur Newspapers from the American Antiquarian Society (1825-1900)The Amateur Newspaper collection at the American Antiquarian Society consists of about 50,000 issues. There are more than 5,500 titles, from every state except Alaska and Hawaii.
Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama (1860-1865)This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865.
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life (1942-1945)This collection, consisting of 25 individual titles, documents life in the internment camps for American persons of Japanese descent. Most of the papers are in English or in dual text.
Politics, Social Activism and Community Support: Selected Gay and Lesbian Periodicals and Newsletters (1947-2004)This collection of periodicals focuses on newsletters issued by gay and lesbian political and social activist organizations throughout the country and on periodicals devoted to gay and lesbian political and social activist agendas. The collection features more than 200 newsletter and periodical titles totalling nearly 8,000 issues.
The Observer: News for the American Soldier in Vietnam (1962-1973)The Observer was a weekly newspaper published by the Command Information Division of the U.S. Military Assistance Command's Office of Information. It was the official organ of the Military Assistance Command, and it carried official news about and for American troops in Vietnam.
The Southern Literary Messenger: Literature of the Old South (1834-1864)The Southern Literary Messenger enjoyed an impressive thirty-year run and was in its time the South's most important literary periodical.
Through the Camera Lens: The Moving Picture World and the Silent Cinema Era (1907-1927)Moving Picture World set a standard for the broadest possible coverage, reviewed current releases and published news, features, and interviews relating to all aspects of the film industry.
Women's Periodicals: Social and Political Issues (1786-1933)Historical women's periodicals provide an important resource to scholars interested in the lives of women, the role of women in society and, in particular, the development of the public lives of women as the push for women's rights—woman suffrage, fair pay, better working conditions, for example—grew in the United States and England.
Bangor Daily News | Bangor Daily News Archive (2003-Current)The history of the Bangor Daily News reflects the history and values of the State of Maine.
African American Newspapers: 1800s This collection of African-American Newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s.
Read more about this collection | Visit all databases on Accessible Archives | Browse by issues
The Civil War Collection, Part I: A Newspaper Perspective (1860-1865)Contains major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The Charleston Mercury, The New York Herald, and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.
Read more about this collection | Visit all databases on Accessible Archives | Browse by issues
Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1898)The magazine was intended to entertain, inform and educate the women of America. In addition to extensive fashion descriptions and plates, the early issues included biographical sketches, articles about mineralogy, handcrafts, female costume, the dance, equestrienne procedures, health and hygiene, recipes and remedies and the like.
Read more about this collection | Visit all databases on Accessible Archives | Browse by issues
The Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800)The Pennsylvania Gazette was one of the United States' most prominent newspapers from 1728 until 1800. The Pennsylvania Gazette provides the reader with a first–hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods.
Read more about this collection | Visit all databases on Accessible Archives | Browse by issues
The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County (1794-1870) This database documents the move to industrialization from a predominantly agrarian culture established by Quaker farmers in the 18th century.
Visit all databases on Accessible Archives | Browse by issues
Caribbean Newspapers (1718 - 1876)140 newspaper titles from 22 islands from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
SUR (1931-1992)SUR is one of the most important and influential literary magazines published in Latin America in the twentieth century. This collection includes images of the complete magazine, including covers, photographs and advertisements.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Times of India (1838 - 2011) Previous publications of The Times of India, the oldest English-language newspaper in India.
Proquest Historical Newspapers:South China Morning Post (1993-2001)South China Morning Post is a Hong Kong-based English-language newspaper. Includes coverage from 1903-2001
19th Century English-Language Journals from the Far East (1817-1901)This collection provides researchers with six rare English-language journals. Founded by Western missionaries or scholars in mainland China, Hong Kong, Malacca, and elsewhere, these journals have one shared goal - introducing Asia to the West. Includes coverage of the arts.
Norman Bethune Papers (1911-2000)Dr. Norman Bethune (白求恩; 1890–1939), a Canadian thoracic surgeon, is a national hero in China. The Norman Bethune Papers consists of letter correspondences, newspaper and magazine clippings, photographs, pamphlets, and research materials.
Trove The Australian Newspapers service allows full-text searching of digitised historic Australian newspapers. The service includes newspapers published in each state and territory from the 1800s to the early 1980s, including the first Australian newspaper, published in Sydney in 1803.
Middle Eastern and North African NewspapersThe Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers collection includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present.
Nashriyah: digital Iranian historyThese newspapers and periodicals, many of which have been only partially accessible inside Iran, cover the defining moments from the following three eras:
Containing more than 12,000 pages, the collection is freely accessible without restriction.
East African Newspapers (1940s to early 2000s)The East African Newspapers collection provides insight into East Africa, featuring key newspapers from the region from the 1940s to the early 2000s. The collection includes over 800,000 pages total from three titles: Daily Nation (Kenya), The Ethiopian Herald, and The Monitor (Uganda).
Rastafari Ephemeral Publications from the Written Rastafari Archives Project (1971-2014)The provocative literary materials in this collection provide a historical time stamp and current affairs commentary on the transitional period in the Rastafari Movement's development—a period extending from the early 1970s through to the present. It is a forty-three-year period during which the Rastafari Movement has been spreading across the Afro-Atlantic world in one form or another and becoming progressively globalized.
Nigerian Newspapers (1960-2010)Digitised Nigerian newspapers from 1960.
Papers Past (1839-1989)Papers Past is an online archive maintained by the National Library of New Zealand. It provides access to digitized New Zealand and Pacific newspapers, magazines, journals, letters, diaries, and parliamentary papers.