Journals are generally more current than books and more specific in their focus. Many academic journals are peer-reviewed, meaning they are evaluated by other experts in the same field before publication. This makes them a good quality source of academic information.
You can access thousands of journals through the Library, most of these online: we subscribe to over 67,000 journals electronically.
For items not available in the library, use our document supply service for digitisations and inter-library loans.
Library databases will often show a link to the PDF or full text of the article which you can download or print. However, there may be occasions where the full text is not available from within the particular database you are searching
In this case you will need to click on the WebBridge link or icon 
WebBridge searches across our other databases and subscriptions to try and locate the article for you. Our finding full text guide shows you how WebBridge works
A humanities and social science journal archive that has strong covereage of history by place, period and theme.
Art Full Text includes 388 active indexed and abstracted journals. 265 of them are peer-reviewed. It also includes 14,000 indexed art dissertations and 229,000 indexed art reproductions.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM)
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) is the premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including photography since its invention
International Bibliography of Art
The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the key resource for scholarly literature on western art, and is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art and includes at least 500 core journals, with an emphasis on specialist and rare titles that are not covered by other indexes.
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities across 28 arts & humanities disciplines. Find out more.
Google Scholar
broadly searches the web for scholarly literature across disciplines and source types: journal articles, theses etc. from publisher websites and institutional repositories.
Find out more on the Library website here.
Web of Science