Skip to Main Content

Law: Foreign Law Databases

Guide to law resources at University of Warwick Library. Includes law books, journals, databases, study skills, referencing, legal research and law librarian.

Law - Foreign and Comparative Law Databases

Law books on a library shelf

Databases

Globe iconLaw databases include primary (legislation and case law) and secondary (dictionary, encyclopaedia, book and journal) sources of legal information. 

This page outlines the key law databases for Foreign and Comparative law. There are additional pages for United KingdomEuropean Union, and International law.

A and Z keys on keyboard

Database A-Z
Complete list of all law databases at University of Warwick library.

Key Databases

Edward Elgar logoEncyclopedia of Comparative Law
225+ articles on comparative law on a topic and outline of national law of foreign countries.

Europa logoEuropa World Plus
Online version of Europa World Yearbook and Regional Surveys of the World. Includes profiles of countries, regions and international organisation including social, political, economic and legal information.

IALS logoFLAG Foreign Law Guide
Search engine to find print holdings of foreign, comparative and international law collections in UK academic and research libraries from the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies.

WorldLII logoWorld Legal Information Institute (WorldLII)
Open access legal research information from 120+ jurisdictions across the world.

HeinOnline logo
HeinOnline
Legal research database including World Constitutions IllustratedIndex to Foreign Legal Periodicals, full-text law journals from foreign jurisdictions, and strong collections of American and Canadian legislation and case law.

Constitutions

Constitute Project logoConstitute Project
Read and compare full-text constitutions in English translation. 

HeinOnline logoWorld Constitutions Illustrated
Full-text constitutions in original language and with English translation from HeinOnline.

Australia

Australian Legal Information Institute (AustLII)
Open access Australian legislation, case law and journals.

Lexis+ UK
International legal materials includes Australian legislation, case law and journals.

Westlaw UK
Westlaw International includes Australian case law and journals. Select Westlaw International from menu on Westlaw UK homepage.

Canada

Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII)
Open access Canadian legislation, case law and journals.

Lexis+ UK
International legal materials includes Canadian legislation, case law and journals.

Westlaw UK
Westlaw International includes Canadian legislation, case law, journals and treaties including the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest. Select Westlaw International from menu on Westlaw UK homepage.

France

Légifrance
Open access French legislation, case law and Official Journal.

Lexis+ UK
International materials includes the journal La Semaine Juridique (Legal Week).

Westlaw UK
Westlaw International includes English translations of the French Civil and Commercial Codes. Select Westlaw International from menu on Westlaw UK homepage.

Germany

Bundesgesetzblatt
Open access German legislation in the Federal Law Gazette - part I is domestic laws, and part 2 is international laws.

Entscheidungens (Court Decisions)
Open access German case law:

Gesetze im Internet
Open access German legislation from the Federal Ministry of Justice including English translations of selected laws.

New Zealand

Lexis+ UK
International legal materials includes New Zealand legislation, case law, journals and the Law of New Zealand encyclopaedia.

New Zealand Legal Information Institute (NZLII)
Open access New Zealand legislation, case law and journals

United States

American Presidency Project
Open access archive to all Presidential documents from George Washington (1789) to Joe Biden (2021-). Including inaugural, farewell and state of the union addresses, presidential and executive orders, press briefings, news conferences, speeches and much more.

Google Scholar
Search engine to find American federal and state case law. Tick the 'case law' box under the search engine.

GovInfo
The official website of the US Government Printing Office (GPO) including the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Constitution, United States Code and United States Court Opinions.

HeinOnline
Legal research database with strong collection of American legislation, case law and journal articles, also includes Foreign Relations of the United States, Pentagon Papers (Vietnam) and Presidential Library.

Legal Information Institute (LLI)
Open access American legislation, case law and executive orders. Also includes Wex legal dictionary and encyclopaedia.

Lexis+ UK
International legal materials includes American legislation, case law, journals and other commentaries.

Westlaw UK
Westlaw US includes American legislation, case law, journals, practical guidance (practice notes and standard forms), treaties and Black's law dictionary. Select Westlaw UK from menu on Westlaw UK homepage.

Africa

African LII lgoAfrican Legal Information Institute (African LII)
Open access case law from regional African courts, and links to Legal Information Institutes from other African countries.

Juta Law
Archive of legislation and case law from sub-Saharan Africa:

  • Statutes of Zimbabwe
  • Tanzania Law Reports
  • Zambia Law Reports
  • Zimbabwe Law Reports

Kenya Law
Open access Kenyan legislation and case law.

Lexis+ UK
International materials includes Butterworths Statutes of South Africa and Butterworths South African Constitutional Reports.

South African Legal Information Institute (SAFLII)
Open access South African legislation and case law.

Asia

AsianLII logoAsian Legal Information Institute (AsianLII)
Open access legal information across 28 Asian jurisdictions.

SOAS Library

SOAS logoSOAS Library
The library at the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London is home to rare collections of African and Asian legal materials. Visitors can use the library via the SCONUL Access Scheme.

Hong Kong

Hong Kong Legal Information Institute (HKLII)
Open access Hong Kong legislation and case law.

Lexis+ UK
International legal materials includes Hong Kong legislation, case law and Halsbury's Laws of Hong Kong.

Westlaw UK
Westlaw International includes Hong Kong legislation, case law and journals. Select Westlaw International from menu on Westlaw UK homepage.

India

Lexis+ UK
International legal materials includes Indian legislation, case law, journals and Halsbury's Laws of India.
 

Korea

Korea Legislation Research Institute (KLRI)
English translations of Korean legislation.

Supreme Court of Korea
English translations of selected cases from the Korean Supreme Court.

Westlaw UK
Westlaw International includes Korean legislation, case law and journals. Select Westlaw International from menu on Westlaw UK homepage.

Malaysia

Lexis+ UK
International legal materials includes Malaysian legislation, case law and journals.

Academic and Legal Research Skills

Dice with letters spelling Study Skills

Study Skills

Discover a range of library and study skills guides including how to study law, how to think critically, and how to write law essays and prepare for examinations.

Person writing notes

Referencing

Discover how to avoid plagiarism, how to use the OSCOLA legal referencing style, and how to manage references with EndNote referencing software.

Scales of justice statue

Legal Research

Discover how to find legislation, case law, and journal articles using law databases, including Doing Legal Research moodle and Lexis+ UK and Westlaw Edge UK database training and certification courses.