Law: European Law Databases

Law databases include primary (legislation and case law) and secondary (dictionary, encyclopaedia, book and journal) sources of legal information. 

This page outlines the key law databases for European Union law. There are additional pages for United Kingdom, Foreign and International law.

Database A-Z
Complete list of all law databases.

EUR-Lex
The official website of European Union, including treaties, legislation, case law and information and notices from the Official Journal (OJ).

European Parliament
Official website of the European parliament, including Members of European Parliament (MEPs), the Plenary, Committees and Delegations.

Court of Justice of the European Union

CURIA is the official website of the CJEU, including case law from the Court of Justice and the General Court (European Court Reports).

European Court of Human Rights
HUDOC is a database of ECtHR case law, including judgments, decisions and advisory opinions. ECtHR is the judicial arm of the Council of Europe (not to be confused with the European Union or Court of Justice).

A European Documentation Centre (EDC) is a library which collects the official publications of the European Union. The University of Warwick Library was an EDC until the UK left the EU in 2020. As such, the library has a large print collection of EU information, which is located on the 4th floor. Our collection includes papers, reports, books and journals, statistics, law reports and the European Current Law Yearbook. The collection is largely historic, as new EU official publications are available open access on EUR-Lex and from the EU Publications Office.

European Sources Online (ESO)
A guide to and search engine for European Union information from the Cardiff European Documentation Centre. ESO includes primary and official sources, commentary, media reports, journal articles, blog posts, monographs and textbooks.

Lexis+ UK

Lexis+ UK includes full-text treaties, legislation, case law and information and notices from the Official Journal (OJ). It also contains the All England Law Reports (European Cases) archive from 1995-2015.

Westlaw UK
Westlaw Edge UK includes a dedicated EU Law search form, and full-text treaties, legislation, case law and information and notices from the Official Journal. Also contains full-text law reports and journals from Sweet & Maxwell:

• Common Market Law Reports and European Law Review
• European Commercial Cases and European Competition Law Review
• European Human Rights Reports and European Human Rights Law Review