Sociology: Books
Sociology books
Most books covering core topics in Sociology are on floors 4 and 5 of the Library.
Most of our print books can be borrowed. Self-issue machines are located on Floor 1.
If the book you want is on loan, you can request it using Click and Collect.
Finding books
Watch this video to find out how to use Library Search to find books and ebooks by author, title and keyword.
Reading lists
Use online reading lists to find key readings for your lectures, seminars and assessments. Link directly to books, ebooks, book chapters, journal articles and other resources.
eBooks for Sociology
Ebooks from Cambridge University Press. The collection includes Cambridge Companions, a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major topics.
Oxford Reference provides over 175,000 concise definitions and in-depth, specialist encyclopedic entries on all of the diverse disciplines that fall under the umbrella of the social sciences.
Subject dictionaries and bibliographies
Subject dictionaries are useful for understanding concepts and theories in sociology and how they are defined. Some examples are shown in the gallery below.
For more detail on concepts and theories, Oxford Bibliographies research guides include overviews of concepts, with a list of recommended readings.
Sociology dictionaries
A world of knowledge awaits 
Through the new Decolonisation and The Library guide, explore Library resources covering perspectives from regions across the world:
- Journals and databases
- Video collections
- Recommended books and reading lists on key topics
- Primary source materials
- And much more.
Image: 'Cogito': Black Power edition, c. 1968; Papers of Bob Purdie, Modern Records Centre, University of Warwick (MSS.149/2/2/12).
For items not available in the library, use our document supply service.
Request articles, books and chapters for your research.
Order new books, borrow inter-library loans, digitise articles and chapters, request postal loans.
Library online courses
Find out about the online courses we offer for all students to help develop both your wider academic skills and skills in using the Library for your research.
Ethnicity and Migration Collection
The Library holds a large collection of books, pamphlets and journals on ethnicity and migration, which spans the 1960s to early 2000s. It includes the Sivanandan collection from the Institute of Race Relations and the CRER collection from the Centre for Research in Ethnic Relations. Geographical coverage includes UK, Europe, US, Latin America, Asia.
Location: Main University Library, Floor 5
View the Sivanandan collection
View the CRER collection search
Academic skills
Discover a range of library and study skills guides including how to study, how to think critically, and how to write essays and prepare for examinations.
Referencing
Discover how to avoid plagiarism, how to use the Harvard referencing style, and how to manage references with EndNote referencing software.
Artificial intelligence
An introduction to artificial intelligence for academic purposes including how to use and reference Gen AI in your academic work.
Research support
Discover the library's support for researchers including literature searching, reference management, research data management, open access and publishing and research metrics.
Contact
- University of Warwick Library
Gibbet Hill Road
Coventry
CV4 7AL - Telephone: +44 (0)24 76 522026
- Email: library at warwick dot ac dot uk
- More contact details