Journals are generally more current than books and more specific in their focus. Many academic journals are peer-reviewed, meaning they are evaluated by other experts in the same field before publication. This makes them a good quality source of academic information.
You can access thousands of journals through the Library, most of these online: we subscribe to over 67,000 journals electronically.
For items not available in the library, use our document supply service for digitisations and inter-library loans.
Library databases will often show a link to the PDF or full text of the article which you can download or print. However, there may be occasions where the full text is not available from within the particular database you are searching
In this case you will need to click on the WebBridge link or icon
WebBridge searches across our other databases and subscriptions to try and locate the article for you. Our finding full text guide shows you how WebBridge works
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) is focused on a core of around 500 of the most relevant English language scholarly journals covering aspects of health and social care from a broadly social scientific perspective.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences focuses on the four core social science subjects of anthropology, economics, politics and sociology and provides comprehensive coverage of these, as well as selected material from cognate subject areas such as law, social policy and criminology.
Sociological Abstracts is the fundamental tool for access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science.
Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, etc. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 19,000 titles in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields
Web of Science a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature and research platform which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases, including the Social Science Citation Index. Find out more.