News & Current Affairs
Newspapers are regular (serial) publications that publish news and current affairs. Newspapers generally publish issues on a daily or weekly basis, and magazines on a weekly or monthly basis.
Newspapers are written for different places and people. The coverage of newspapers may be local (town or city), regional (county) or national (country). They may cover general current affairs, or be written for special interest groups i.e. business, economics and finance. Newspapers may also convey political bias, and may be considered left (labour) or right (conservative) wing, or be impartial (centre).
Traditionally newspapers were published in print format with unbound pages, but are now also published online. Popular newspapers are known as tabloid newspapers and they feature simple articles with more photographs. Quality newspapers are known as broadsheet newspapers, and they feature in-depth articles with more analysis.
Newswires distribute breaking news and press releases to journalists and news agencies. News is also reported via TV and radio programmes, and recordings and transcripts may be available via digital streaming services i.e. Box of Broadcasts.
Newspaper databases make full-text articles available from a range of national and local newspapers and newswires across the world.
They are updated on a daily basis and typically include the current edition of the newspaper. They publish the full-text of articles, but not associated photographs, tables or graphs.
Newspaper databases are designed to be searched by keyword, and the results filtered by publication date, location and newspaper title.
Full-text local, regional and national newspapers, newswires and magazines from the UK and across the world.
Gale OneFile News is a research database which includes full-text local, regional and national newspapers and magazines from the UK and across the world.
PressReader provides unlimited access to 7,000 digital newspapers and magazines from 120 countries in 60 languages.
Africa Confidential - fortnightly newsletter and one of the longest-established specialist publications on Africa, covering political, economic and security developments. Available directly from Africa Confidential (1998-) and Wiley Online Library (1998-2006).
New York Times - daily American newspaper published in New York. International editions also available.
Available via Gale Research Complete (1985-), Nexis Uni (1980-) and Proquest Historical Newspapers (1857-2018).
South China Morning Post (1903-2001)
