Law: International Law Databases

Law databases include primary (legislation and case law) and secondary (dictionary, encyclopaedia, book and journal) sources of legal information. 

This page outlines the key law databases for International law. There are additional pages for United Kingdom, European Union and Foreign law.

Database A-Z
Complete list of all law databases.

Collected Courses of the Hague Academy of International Law
The Collected Courses are a series of monographs on public and private international law published by the Hague Academy.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Open access database of scholarship on international politics and related fields, including news, books, journals, working papers and policy briefs.

FLAG Foreign Law Guide
Search engine to find print holdings of foreign, comparative and international law collections in UK academic and research libraries from the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies.

Oxford Bibliographies
Guides to current scholarship in International law and International relations, including research articles with list of sources (bibliography) on a topic.

United Nations Documents
Access official publications of the United Nations, including General Assembly and Security Council. Includes UN Journal, UN Yearbook, minutes of meetings and reports of conferences. Search for publications via the Official Documents System (ODS) or browse publications via the UN Digital Library.

Flare Index to Treaties
Search engine to find 2,000+ significant multilateral and bilateral treaties from the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies.

UK Treaties Online (UKTO)
Full text of all UK multilateral treaties which have entered into force.

United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS)
Full text of 560+ United Nations multilateral treaties, including signatories, reservations, communications and entry into force.

International Court of Justice (ICJ)
Decisions of the ICJ including pending cases, judgments, advisory opinions and orders.

International Law Reports (ILR)
Key series of international law reports from the Lauterpacht Research Centre for International Law in the University of Cambridge.

International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea
Decisions of the tribunal including advisory opinions and the digest of jurisprudence.

African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights
Decisions of the African Court including pending cases, decisions, judgments, and the African Court Law Reports and the African Human Rigjts Yearbook.

Council of Europe Treaty Office
Full text of Council of Europe treaties, including signatories, ratifications, reservations, communications and entry into force.

European Court of Human Rights
HUDOC is a database of ECtHR case law, including judgments, decisions and advisory opinions.

Equality and Human Rights Commission (EHRC)
The commission is the UK's national body for discrimination, human rights and equality. The publications library includes annual reports, advice and guidance, research reports and inquiries.

Inter-American Court of Human Rights
Decisions of the IA Court including pending cases, provisional measures, judgments and orders, and compliance monitoring.

International Criminal Court (ICC)
News, investigations and case law on genocide and war crimes, including judgments, decisions and orders of the ICC.

Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR)
The United Nations human rights agency, including news, press releases, official publications, research databases, and Human Rights Council session reports.

Oxford Public International Law (OPIL)
Collection of research information on public international law including Oxford Reports on International Law (ORIL), Max Planck Encyclopaedias of International Law (MPEIL), and Oxford Scholarly Authorities in International Law (OSAIL).
 

Investment Arbitration Reporter
IA Reporter offers news and analysis of international investment treaty arbitration including latest cases, decisions and awards. Browse for news by country, process, treaty, and industry.

Kluwer Arbitration
A collection of books and journals, conventions and treaties, and awards and court decisions on international arbitration, including Redfern and Hunter on International Arbitration and International Council for Commercial Arbitration handbooks, yearbooks and other publications.

Transnational Dispute Management (TDM)
TDM is a peer-reviewed international arbitration journal which specialises in investment arbitration. The TDM database also includes legal and regulatory materials, an audio-visual library, and the OGEMID email discussion forum (for staff) and Young-OGEMID for students. [You do not need to register to download full-text articles, but you may wish to register your Warwick email address to be notified of new journal issues.]

United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL)
Official publications of the UNCITRAL on international commercial arbitration and dispute resolution, including conventions, model laws and case decisions.

Climate Change and the Law
A collection of original documents and grey literature on climate change incorporating corporate, environmental and human rights law.

GreenFILE
Indexes books, journals and other scholarly information on the human impact on the environment including climate change and sustainable development.

IBFD Tax Research Platform
Guides to international taxation information from the International Bureau of Fiscal Documentation, including country tax guides, primary sources and commentary. Click on Search to access materials.

IMF eLibrary
International Monetary Fund online library including statistics, reports and papers by topic, country and series. 

OECD iLibrary
Research information from the Organisation of Economic Cooperation and Development including books, journals, reports and statistics. 

World Bank
Official website of the World Bank including research publications and open data, and the rules and decisions of the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID).

WTO iLibrary
Official publications of the World Trade Organisation including books, journals, working papers, reports and statistics.

WIPO Lex
Open access database of global intellectual property law from the World Intellectual Property Organisation, including treaties, legislation and case law.