ESG & Sustainability
Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) or Global Goals are 17 global developmental objectives introduced by the United Nations in 2015, and monitored by the UN's Division for Sustainable Development Goals.
The SDGs aim to end poverty, improve health and education, reduce inequality and increase economic growth, while also tackling climate change and environmental protection.
Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) metrics are corporate performance criteria used to assess a company's impact on society and the environment.
ESG ratings are scores given to companies which evaluate their performance against environmental, social and governance criteria. There are hundreds of ESG ratings companies, each one uses unique evaluation criteria leading to an ESG score (0-100) or risk rating on a AAA to CCC scale.
GreenFILE is a bibliographic research database covering the human impact on the environment.
It indexes academic, government and general interest publications covering climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy and recycling.
UN Division for Sustainable Development Goals: United Nations division with responsibility for SDG
The Global Goals: 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs): information and infographics on 17 SDGs
2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development: Transforming Our World: UN General Assembly Resolution A/RES/70/1
Global Sustainable Development Report (GSDR): quadrennial report on GSD (2023, 2019, 2016, 2015)
SDG data and statistics
SDG Global Database: data on 210+ SDG indicators by indicator, country, region or time from the UN Statistics Division 
World Bank Open Data: open access global development data from the World Bank
World Development Indicators: 1,400+ time-series indicators on global development from the World Bank
DataBank: World Development Indicators: create custom reports using World Bank WDI data
Atlas of Sustainable Development Goals: visualisation of the 17 global SDG goals from the World Bank
Times Higher Education Impact Rankings
Measures the performance of 1,700+ global universities against the UN's Sustainable Development Goals (SDG)
Refinitiv Eikon
Refinitiv Eikon is a global company, financial markets and news database from LSEG.
In addition to company and financial data, Refinitiv Eikon is a key source of environment, social and governance (ESG) data, with current ESG ratings and data for 6,000+ global companies, and historical data for 1,000+ companies back to the 2002 fiscal year. Either search for ESG data by company name or ticker, or use the ESG Screener App to create custom ESG reports on multiple companies.
To access Refinitiv Eikon:
The Refinitiv Eikon login is automatic. Do not enter an Eikon username and password. If the login fails, close all applications and try again. You may require several attempts to login to Refinitiv Eikon. If you require assistance logging into Refinitiv Eikon, please see local notices at the terminal and/or contact the library helpdesk.
Database training and support: Training videos and Certification available via LSEG Learning Centre
The following databases provide free company ESG scores and risk ratings, however the University of Warwick Library does not have subscriptions to the full databases, and therefore some data and reports are restricted. Typically, you can search for an individual company by name or ticker, but cannot report on multiple companies, or access historical data.
Corporate Register
Corporate Register provides corporate responsibility (CR) reports for 28,000 global organisations
ISS ESG Gateway
ISS provides ESG scores and ratings for 7,800+ global companies and 26,500 global funds from A+ excellent to D- poor performance. Also includes SDG impact ratings and Cyber risk scores.
MSCI ESG Ratings
MSCI provides ESG scores for 8,500+ global companies rating companies from leaders (AAA) to laggards (CCC)
S&P Global ESG Scores
S&P Global provides ESG scores for 10,000+ global companies underpinned by Corporate Sustainability Assessment (CSA) methodological approach of direct engagement with companies in ESG assessment.
Sustainanalytics ESG Risk Ratings
Sustainanalytics (part of Morningstar) provides ESG ratings and rankings of 20,000+ global companies
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC): the UN's body for assessing climate change science
Copernicus Climate Change Service - part of the European Union's Copernicus Earth Observation Programme
Reports on climate change in Europe and across the world. Access to the Climate Data Store
World Bank Climate Change Data: global climate change statistics from the World Bank
IMF Climate Change Dashboard: data on climate change for economists
Our World in Data, CO2 and Greenhouse Gas Emissions - report with embedded data explorer
NASA Global Climate Change: reports, data and images on global climate change and earth science from NASA
Climate Change Committee (CCC): independent statutory body on climate change reporting to the UK parliament and government
Pathways to Net Zero: reports on clean energy by Elsevier from meta-analysis of Scopus database
United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC)