News & Current Affairs
Newspapers are regular (serial) publications that publish news and current affairs. Newspapers generally publish issues on a daily or weekly basis, and magazines on a weekly or monthly basis.
Newspapers are written for different places and people. The coverage of newspapers may be local (town or city), regional (county) or national (country). They may cover general current affairs, or be written for special interest groups i.e. business, economics and finance. Newspapers may also convey political bias, and may be considered left (labour) or right (conservative) wing, or be impartial (centre).
Traditionally newspapers were published in print format with unbound pages, but are now also published online. Popular newspapers are known as tabloid newspapers and they feature simple articles with more photographs. Quality newspapers are known as broadsheet newspapers, and they feature in-depth articles with more analysis.
Newswires distribute breaking news and press releases to journalists and news agencies. News is also reported via TV and radio programmes, and recordings and transcripts may be available via digital streaming services i.e. Box of Broadcasts.
Newspaper databases make full-text articles available from a range of national and local newspapers and newswires across the world.
They are updated on a daily basis and typically include the current edition of the newspaper. They publish the full-text of articles, but not associated photographs, tables or graphs.
Newspaper databases are designed to be searched by keyword, and the results filtered by publication date, location and newspaper title.
Full-text local, regional and national newspapers, newswires and magazines from the UK and across the world.
Gale OneFile News is a research database which includes full-text local, regional and national newspapers and magazines from the UK and across the world.
Selected full-text global newspapers, magazines and trade publications on business, economics and finance.
Economist.com | Economist Historical Archive
Online daily edition of The Economist newspaper on international current affairs, business and politics. Access via https://www.economist.com/. First time users, click on 'Login' and 'Register Now' with your @warwick.ac.uk email. Afterwards, login is via email address and password. Download the Economist app from Apple or Android stores. Older issues of the weekly edition of The Economist available via The Economist Historical Archive (1843-2020).
FT.com | Financial Times Historical Archive
Online daily edition of the Financial Times newspaper (London). Access via https://ft.com/Warwick. First time users, complete the data privacy agreement and FT registration. Afterwards, login is via the university's single-sign-on authentication. Download the FT.com Business News app from Apple or Android stores. Older issues of The Financial Times available via The Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2021).
New York Times | New York Times Historical Archive (1857-2018)
Online daily edition of The New York Times newspaper on international current affairs, business and politics. Includes daily editions in Mandarin and Spanish. First time users, register at https://www.nytimes.com/activate-access/digitalpass, click on 'Create Account' and register with your @warwick.ac.uk or @wbs.ac.uk email address. Afterwards, login with your email address and password. Download the New York Times app from Apple or Android stores. Older issues of the New York Times are also available via The New York Times Historical Archive (1857-2018).
Harvard Business Review
Bi-monthly magazine on business and management. Available exclusively via Business Source Ultimate (1922-).
Banker - monthly magazine on UK and international banking and finance published in London.
Available via ABI/GLOBAL Inform (1991-) and Nexis Uni (1989-).
Fortune - bi-monthly magazine on American and international business published in New York.
Available via Business Source Ultimate (1992-).
Investor's Chronicle - weekly magazine on global financial markets and corporate actions published in London.
Available via ABI/INFORM Global (2005-) and Nexis Uni (2018-).
Project Syndicate - a non-profit global media organisation with a focus on world current affairs, economics and politics.
Available directly from ProjectSyndicate.org (1997-)
New York Times - daily American newspaper published in New York. International editions also available.
Available via Gale Research Complete (1985-), Nexis Uni (1980-) and Proquest Historical Newspapers (1857-2018).
Wall Street Journal - daily newspaper on American and international business and finance published in New York.
Available via ABI-INFORM Global (1984-).
South China Morning Post (1903-2001)
