Warwick Business School : Research support

Research support

Research & Academic Services is a team of librarians and research specialists dedicated to supporting researchers across the University of Warwick.

The team provides research support services, including and advice and training, in literature searching, reference management, open research, research data management and digital scholarship.

Your primary contact is your Research & Academic Support Librarian, who provides library support for your department and can signpost you to other research support specialists within the library.

Key contacts

Librarian

Subject specialist librarians supporting researchers in literature searching, finding information and referencing

• academicsupport@warwick.ac.uk

Open Research

Research specialising supporting open access, disseminating your research, copyright and research metrics

• openaccessfund@warwick.ac.uk

Research Data

Research specialists supporting research data management plans, managing research data, and submitting research data to repositories

• research.data@warwick.ac.uk

WRAP

Library specialists supporting green open access and depositing publications in Warwick's WRAP research repository

• publications@warwick.ac.uk

WBS Librarians

Email us
Book an appointment 

You can also email us individually

Lucie Thomas 
Available Monday-Wednesday


Email Lucie

Rhiannon Taylor
Available Wednesday - Friday 

Email Rhiannon

Literature searching and finding information

The library offers a wide range of bibliographic databases to support literature searching:

• Library Search: search engine for finding library articles, books and chapters
• Scopus and Web of Science: key index, abstract and citation databases 
• Specialist databases and archives for finding sources of literature in your discipline

Your Research & Academic Support Librarian can provide advice and guidance on planning your literature search, using library databases, accessing full-text resources and document supply services.

The library also offers a Literature Searching for Researchers workshop as part of our termly Research Training programme.

Systematic review

Systematic reviews are a research method regularly used in the health and medical sciences, which entail a very structured review of the research literature. 

Systematic literature searches are a scientific approach to literature searching, which borrow principles from systematic reviews, and are increasingly used in social sciences.

Resource to support systematic reviews include:

• Warwick Library tutorial: Conducting a systematic literature search
• King’s College London: Searching for Systematic Reviews and Evidence Synthesis
• Cherry, Boland & Dickson: Doing a systematic review: a student’s guide

Your Research & Academic Support Librarian can provide advice and guidance on systematic approaches to literature searching.

The library also offers a Literature Searching for Researchers workshop as part of our termly Research Training programme.

Referencing and reference management

The library provides advice and guidance on plagiarism, referencing and reference management:

• Online short courses in Avoiding Plagiarism and Introduction to Referencing
• Referencing style guides for all departments across the university
• Cite Them Right Online - the essential online referencing guide with videos and tutorials 

Reference management software allows researchers to save and organise references, and to cite references and create bibliographies in their referencing style. The university provides, and the library supports, the EndNote reference management software. The library also offers EndNote workshops as part of our termly Research Training programme.

Your Research & Academic Support Librarian can provide advice and guidance on plagiarism and referencing, and using EndNote reference management software,

Research data management (RDM)

The library provides advice and guidance on managing your research data:

• Research Data Management library topic guide
• Online short course in Research Data Management & Planning
• Support writing Data Management Plans (DMP) using DMPOnline

The Research Data Team can provide advice and guidance on data management plans, managing research data, and on compliance with funder requirements.

The library also offers an Introduction to Research Data Management workshop as part of our termly Research Training programme.

Open access, open research and publishing (OA)

The library provides advice and guidance on open access and publishing your research:

• Open access policies and REF 2029 requirements
• Online short course on Understanding Open Access
• Support in publishing OA and depositing in WRAP

The Open Research Team can provide advice and guidance on data management plans, managing research data, and on compliance with funder requirements.

The library also offers Open Research Essentials and Publishing Strategically workshops as part of our termly Research Training programme.

Research metrics and altmetrics

The library provides advice and guidance on responsible metrics and measuring research impact:

• Citation metrics, journal impact factors and H indexes
• Alternative metrics (altmetrics) based in usage and sharing
• Discovery of research metrics using specialist library databases
• Dimensions, Journal Citation Reports, Scopus and Web of Science
• Understanding and responsible use of research metrics

Your Research & Academic Support Librarian and the Open Research Team can provide advice and guidance on research metrics.

The library also offers an Investigating Research Metrics workshop as part of our termly Research Training programme.

Research training

Research & Academic Services runs a termly programme of hybrid training events for researchers.

Read on to find out more about and book to attend the library's research skills training workshops.

Dates and times vary, so check out the Research Training webpage for the current timetable.

Library Induction for Researchers

Meet the Research & Academic Support team and discover library services and support for postgraduate research students.

Introduction to Research Data Management

Introduction to key concepts of research data management (RDM) best practice focussing on data management planning (DMP). 

Literature Searching for Researchers

Develop your literature searching with a systematic approach. Learn key search techniques, save searches and create alerts and how to record and report your search.

EndNote reference management

Introduction to EndNote including how to install software, import or add references, organise references and groups, and generate citations and a bibliography.

Investigating Research Metrics

Introduction to research metrics, including citations, journal impact factors and altmetrics, and how they impact researchers.

Profiles for Researchers

Create and manage your online researcher profile to showcase your publications and connect with other researchers.

Copyright Essentials (inc. AI)

Using copyrighted information in your research, thesis and publications - with consideration of copyright and artificial intelligence.

Publishing Strategically

Annual series of workshops outlining the publication process for researchers:

• Publishing essentials
• Journal publishing
• Book publishing
• Future of scholarly publishing

Sage Research Methods

Sage Research Methods (SRM) is an online learning platform for researchers, with a wide range of resources to support quantitative, qualitative and mixed research methods including a project planner, methods map, and many books, case studies and datasets. 

• Login to Sage Research Methods
• Sage Research Methods LibGuide