Subject Guides: Warwick Business School : Journals

Journals

Journals are regular (serial) publications, like magazines, that publish the outcome of original research and are aimed at other researchers or scholars. They can focus on a narrow field of study.

Journal articles often cover quite narrow topics within a field. They record the state of the art so will keep up to date with the latest concepts, findings, or trends, scholarly analysis or research. Find articles using Library Search with the Articles search function.

Journal articles undergo peer-review, which is a process of review by experts in the field (peers). It is aimed at validating the research prior to publication of an article, ensuring quality, originality, contribution to the knowledge base, and authority in a research article.

Finding journals

Watch this video to find out how to use Library Search to find articles by author and 'article title' and journals by journal title.

Citation searching

Google Scholar
broadly searches the web for scholarly literature across disciplines and source types: journal articles, theses etc. from publisher websites and institutional repositories.

FT top 50 journals

Financial Times Article

Aaron Tay, Librarian from Singapore Management University has put together a list of ISSNs for these journals.

Watch a video on Searching the FT50 journals list.

Featured Journals

Harvard Business Review

Academy of Management Annals

Academy of Management Review

MIT Sloan Management Review

Journal Databases

Scopus

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Includes over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers.

Web of Science

Web of Science is a multidisciplinary research platform which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases. It offers access to research tools like citation reports and cited reference searching, and personalised features such as saved searches and alerts.

ABI/INFORM

This is a journal collection that offers 1850 full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, competitive and product information, company and tax law.

Business Source Ultimate

This journal collection is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics

Emerald Insight

This database contains over 120 British journals. Covers the major management disciplines including strategy, leadership, information management, marketing and human resource management.

Spotlight on: journals on Women in Business

Women in Management Review

Gender, Work & Organization

Women in Business

LibKey Nomad

The library uses LibKey to link from Library Search and other library databases to full-text articles. LibKey Nomad is an internet browser extension which links you from paywalled to full-text articles on your internet search engine. Click here to install LibKey Nomad onto your personal device.

BrowZine

BrowZine is a virtual newsstand available on your internet browser or as a mobile app. It displays the library's key journals by discipline, and allows you to create a list of your favourite journals. It will alert you to new issues of a journal, and allow you to save and download articles for offline reading. Click here to access BrowZine. Sign-up for a BrowZine account (with your @warwick.ac.uk email) to create your personal Bookshelf and Article list.