Banker - monthly magazine on UK and international banking and finance published in London.
Available via ABI/GLOBAL Inform (1991-) and Nexis Uni (1989-).
Economist - weekly newspaper on international current affairs, business and politics published in London and New York.
Available via ABI/INFORM Global (UK edn, 1992-), Gale Research Complete (US edn, 1988-), and Historical Archive (1843-2020).
Financial Times - daily newspaper on UK and international business and economics published in London.
Available via ABI-INFORM Global (1996-), Gale Research Complete (1999-), and Nexis Uni (1982-) - all with 30 day embargo.
Also available via Historical Archive (1888-2016). Current edition available only via FT.com.
FT.com - online daily edition of the Financial Times newspaper (London) - today's news (no embargo)
The Department of Economics and Warwick Business School both have subscriptions to FT.com available to students and staff. Please contact your department/school administrator for registration information.
Fortune - bi-monthly magazine on American and international business published in New York.
Available via Business Source Ultimate (1992-).
Harvard Business Review - bi-monthly magazine on business and management published in Brighton (MA, USA).
Available via Business Source Ultimate (1922-).
Investor's Chronicle - weekly magazine on global financial markets and corporate actions published in London.
Available via ABI/INFORM Global (2005-) and Nexis Uni(2018-).
Project Syndicate - a non-profit global media organisation with a focus on world current affairs, economics and politics.
Available directly from ProjectSyndicate.org (1997-)
New York Times - daily American newspaper published in New York. International editions also available.
Available via Gale Research Complete (1985-), Nexis Uni (1980-) and Proquest Historical Newspapers (1857-2018).
Wall Street Journal - daily newspaper on American and international business and finance published in New York.
Available via ABI-INFORM Global (1984-).
ABI/INFORM Global - a journal database which includes an index to and selected full-text global newspapers, magazines and trade publications on business, economics and finance.
Full-text titles include African Business (London), Arabian Business (London), Bloomberg Business Week (New York), Canadian Business (Toronto), China Economic Review (Shanghai), Economic Times (New Delhi), Economist (London), Financial Express (Dhaka), Financial Post (Toronto), Financial Times (London), Fortune (New York), Mint (New Gelhi), MIT Technology Review, New Statesman (London), Newsweek (New York), and Wall Street Journal (New York).
Gale Research Complete - Gale OneFile News is a research database which includes full-text local, regional and national newspapers and magazines from the UK and across the world. Includes general current affairs (tabloid and broadsheet newspapers, and business and finance magazines.
Full-text titles include Coventry Telegraph, Daily Mail (London), Daily Telegraph and Sunday Telegraph (London), Daily Telegraph and Sunday Telegraph (Sydney), Economist (London), Guardian and Observer (London), Financial Times (London), Independent (London), London Evening Standard, Mirror and Sunday Mirror (London), New York Times, South China Morning Post (Hong Kong), Times and Sunday Times (London), Times of India (Mumbai), and Washington Post.
Nexis Uni - a newspaper database which includes full-text local, regional and national newspapers, newswires and magazines from the UK and across the world. Includes general current affairs (tabloid and broadsheet newspapers) and business, finance and legal magazines.
Full-text titles include Coventry Telegraph, Business Insider, Daily Mail (London), Daily Telegraph and Sunday Telegraph (London), Daily Telegraph and Sunday Telegraph (Sydney), Economist Intelligence Unit, Guardian and Observer (London), Financial Times (London), Independent (London), Investor's Chronicle, London Evening Standard, Mirror and Sunday Mirror (London), New Statesman, New York Times, South China Morning Post (Hong Kong), Times and Sunday Times (London), Times of India (Mumbai), and USA Today.
Newspapers are regular (serial) publications that publish news and current affairs. Newspapers generally publish issues on a daily or weekly basis, and magazines on a weekly or monthly basis.
Newspapers are written for different places and people. The coverage of newspapers may be local (town or city), regional (county) or national (country). They may cover general current affairs, or be written for special interest groups i.e. business, economics and finance. Newspapers may also convey political bias, and may be considered left (labour) or right (conservative) wing, or be impartial (centre).
Traditionally newspapers were published in print format with unbound pages, but are now also published online. Popular newspapers are known as tabloid newspapers and they feature simple articles with more photographs. Quality newspapers are known as broadsheet newspapers, and they feature in-depth articles with more analysis.
Newswires distribute breaking news and press releases to journalists and news agencies. News is also reported via TV and radio programmes, and recordings and transcripts may be available via digital streaming services i.e. Box of Broadcasts.
Most newspapers publish an online edition. Sometimes online newspapers are free, but often they are subscription based. The library does not generally subscribe to individual newspaper websites. Instead the library subscribes to newspaper databases like Gale Research Complete and Nexis Uni, and to historical newspaper archives.
Newspaper databases make full-text articles available from a range of newspapers and newswires. They are updated on a daily basis and typically include the current edition of the newspaper. They publish the full-text of articles, but not associated photographs, tables or graphs. Newspaper databases are designed to be searched by keyword, and the results filtered by publication date, location and newspaper title.
To find newspapers, simply search for the newspaper title in Library Search, and you will be directed to the library's print and digital holdings. Alternatively, you can find newspaper articles by searching for a keyword in Library Search, and filtering your results to newspaper resource type.