LSEG Workspace
LSEG Workspace is a global company and financial database from the London Stock Exchange Group (LSEG).
Any University of Warwick student or staff member can apply for an LSEG Workspace account. Access is jointly provided by the University of Warwick Library and the Warwick Business School.
LSEG Workspace can be accessed remotely via your internet browser, and by installing the LSEG Workspace for desktop software on your computer.
This library guide describes how to access LSEG Workspace, get started with simple searches and screens, and develop your research skills with LSEG's online training and certification scheme.
LSEG/Refinitiv Eikon and Mergent Online retired at the end of June 2025 and are no longer available.
LSEG Workspace is the new replacement product for LSEG/Refinitiv Eikon and Mergent Online.
LSEG Workspace is a new global company and financial database from the London Stock Exchange Group. LSEG Workspace replaces the LSEG Eikon and Mergent databases (formerly Refinitiv & Thomson Reuters Eikon, Datastream, Mergent Online and Investext). Key LSEG Workspace content includes:
LSEG Workspace is available to all students and staff at the University of Warwick for academic and non-commercial purposes only. LSEG Workspace can be accessed remotely off-campus, making it is more accessible to commuter and distance-learning students. Academic staff and researchers wishing to publish research using LSEG Workspace data should seek a Professor Licence.
To access LSEG Workspace, users should apply for a licence via the LSEG Self-Registration Portal. Once a licence has been allocated, users can login to LSEG Workspace web access with their LSEG User ID and password.
The University has 50 x Student Licences and 2 x Professor Licences. Student licences are suitable for most users: they are issued for a period of 2 weeks, include remote access to LSEG Workspace, and are limited to downloading 10 million Datastream data points per month. If using the LSEG Workspace add-in for Excel, users will also need to install the LSEG Workspace desktop software.
LSEG Workspace is an alternative to Bloomberg. The library does not subscribe to Bloomberg, but students in the Warwick Business School and Department of Economics can access Bloomberg via their school or department.
The University of Warwick has 50 x LSEG Workspace Student Licences which are available to all students and staff across the university. Student licences are offered on a first-come, first-served basis, normally for a period of 2 weeks. Applications for LSEG Workspace student licences are approved automatically - providing that licences are available.
If you have any difficulty with or questions about LSEG Self-Registration, please contact library@warwick.ac.uk
To access LSEG Workspace, users must first apply for a LSEG Workspace Licence via the LSEG Self-Registration Portal:
When the self-registration process is complete you will receive a Welcome to LSEG Workspace email:
For subsequent use of LSEG Workspace, users should renewal their LSEG Workspace Licence via the LSEG Self-Registration Portal:
When you receive the Welcome to LSEG Workspace email, login with your previous LSEG User ID and Password
Your LSEG User ID should retain your previous LSEG Workspace history, enabling you to resume your previous research.
Can I reserve a LSEG Workspace licence for a specific date or week?
No - all licences are offered on a first-come, first-served basis.
What if there are no LSEG Workspace licences available?
The self-registration portal will place you in a waiting list, and you will be allocated a licence when one becomes available.
At busy times, the library may cancel unused licenses and/or reduce the licence period to less than 2 weeks.
I need access to LSEG Workspace for more than 2 weeks!
You can reapply for another LSEG Workspace licence after it expires. Providing there are available licences, you will be allocated another 2 week licence. If there are no licences available, you will be placed in the waiting list and allocated a licence when one becomes available.
I have not received my LSEG Verification email!
First check the junk or other email folders in your email inbox. The sender is 'Refinitiv' and the subject is 'LSEG Email Verification'.
Then check that you have registered with the correct email address. You should use the your.name@warwick.ac.uk or your.name@wbs.ac.uk email address - not the usernumber@live.warwick.ac.uk email address.
I have not received my Welcome to LSEG Workspace email!
The welcome email should be received in 20 minutes, but it can take up to 6 hours (especially if you request the Datastream add-on). The sender is 'Refinitiv' and the subject is 'Welcome to LSEG Workspace'.
I have forgotten my LSEG User ID or password!
Please contact library@warwick.ac.uk.
After you have completed self-registration, and have been allocated a student or professor licence, you are ready to use LSEG Workspace. The easiest way to use LSEG Workspace is via Workspace web access your internet browser, using the LSEG User ID and Password chosen in the self-registration process. Alternatively, you can download the Workspace mobile app for your mobile phone or tablet.
For most research purposes, LSEG Workspace can be used on your internet browser via Web access. If you want to conduct research using the Datastream add-in for Excel, you will need to download and install the desktop version of LSEG Workspace. The LSEG Workspace for desktop software is available free-of-charge to download either directly from LSEG Workspace (for personal devices) or via the Software Centre (for university managed devices). Please refer to the Desktop-Software section of this library guide for further information.
What internet browsers does LSEG Workspace web access work on?
LSEG Workspace web access is supported on the Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge and Apple Safari internet browsers.
I have forgotten my LSEG Workspace password!
If you have forgotten your password, go to Workspace web access and click on Forgotten your password?
I have forgotten my LSEG User ID!
If you have forgotten your LSEG User ID, please contact library@warwick.ac.uk with your name and university email address.
For most research purposes, LSEG Workspace can be used on your internet browser or mobile app - please refer to the Web-Access section of this library guide for further information. If you want to conduct research using the LSEG Workspace add-in for Excel (formerly the Datastream add-in for Excel), you will need to download and install LSEG Workspace for Desktop, either directly from LSEG Workspace (for personal devices) or via the Software Centre (for university managed devices).
If you have a personal computer or laptop, you can download and install LSEG Workspace desktop software directly. It is free to download from LSEG Workspace and available for both Microsoft Windows and Apple macOS devices.
Watch the Installing LSEG Workspace and Web Access video for further guidance [2 min 30 secs].
If you use a university managed computer (either staff laptop or student computer), you can install LSEG Workspace desktop software from the Software Centre.
If you experience problems installing LSEG Workspace from the Software Centre, please contact the IT Service Desk. Please note that IT Services can only support software installation, and do not provide product access or user support.
For most research purposes, academic staff and researchers should use a standard LSEG Workspace Student Licence.
In exceptional circumstances, academic staff and researchers may require a LSEG Workspace Professor Licence:
The University of Warwick has 2 x LSEG Workspace Professor Licences which are available to academic staff and researchers on request. Professor Licences will be assigned at the discretion of the library's LSEG Workspace administrators and in consultation with Research and Academic Support Librarians.
If you wish to apply for a LSEG Professor Licence, please contact library@warwick.ac.uk including your name, role or job title, reason for your request, and your preferred start date and duration of access. Please be aware that we have limited Professor Licences and need to ensure that they are shared equitably between all academic staff and researchers who request access.
Unfortunately, LSEG Workspace Professor Licences are not available to undergraduate or postgraduate taught students.
For all general enquiries about LSEG Workspace, please contact library@warwick.ac.uk.
For enquiries about installation of LSEG Workspace desktop software, please contact the IT Service Desk.
The library's LSEG Workspace administrators can provide advice on applying for a licence, self-registration, user IDs and passwords, and access via web access, mobile app and desktop.
The library's Research and Academic Support Librarians can provide advice on getting started with and simple searches in LSEG Workspace, but their expertise does not extend to advanced searching, formulae writing or python coding for APIs. You can find your Research and Academic Support Librarian here, and you are welcome to contact your librarian directly by email, telephone or chat, and to book a 1-2-1 appointment.
LSEG provides extensive online training via the LSEG Learning Centre, including:
The LSEG Learning Centre includes learning pathways, short bitesize videos and online tests which can lead to industry-recognised certificates, which can be included on your CV as evidence of your research skills.
LSEG also has LSEG Support - an online LSEG Workspace product support portal. Unfortunately, the LSEG Support team do not communicate directly with undergraduate or postgraduate students - they only liaise with library staff and holders of professor licences. If you have a complex enquiry, which requires advice from LSEG Support, your Research and Academic Support Librarian can raise this on your behalf.
The LSEG Workspace Training section of this library guide includes more information about using LSEG Workspace.
The LSEG Learning Centre provides online user guides, training and certification, and webinars in all products including LSEG Workspace.
For those new to LSEG Workspace, we recommend starting with the following guides and training:
Successful completion of the Getting Started with LSEG Workspace short course leads to a certificate of achievement [no certification test].
For those who wish to advance their LSEG Workspace research skills, we recommend certification:
Successful completion of the LSEG Workspace Certification course, including the online certification test, leads to the award of an industry recognised certificate, which can be included in your CV and badged on LinkedIn, as evidence of your research skills.
Access LSEG Workspace
| 1. App library | 4. Search bar | 7. User menu |
| 2. Home page | 5. Tiles | 8. Help |
| 3. Navigation bar | 6. Alerts | 9. App menu |
For an overview of the LSEG Workspace toolbar, read Introduction to LSEG Workspace: Quick Reference Guide [8 page PDF document].
Click in the Search bar and type in the name or ticker (code) for an individual company, equity or index. LSEG Workspace will suggest matching data sources. Click on the name of a data source to view summary information and access detailed information.
You can use Layouts to create personalised views of LSEG Workspace to monitor your favourite companies, markets or news. Click on My Layouts to view the templates and to build your customised view of LSEG Workspace.
You can create advanced searches and reports using the Screener App. Click in the Search bar, type in Screener, and select Screener App. The screener app allows you to create a list of instruments, and add data variables, based on your set of criteria.
For example, you could create a list of companies with a specific industry code, or that are constituents of an index, and then view associated financial data and ESG scores for the last 5 years. You can then download the data to Excel.
The Screener app allows users to create a customised list of companies, indices or other securities, which meet your defined selection criteria. You can also filter, rank and sort results, and display additional data variables for each item in your list.
To access the Screener app in LSEG Workspace:
You can use the Screener app to create customised reports. To get you started, please see a few example screens to create lists and add data variables.
LSEG Workspace is the library's best source of Environment, Social and Governance (ESG) data.
LSEG Workspace includes ESG scores and ratings for 15,000+ public and private global companies from 2002 onwards, including data on energy, water and emissions, and data on equality, diversity and inclusion (EDI).
The following guides explain what ESG data is available on LSEG Workspace, and the methodologies behind the calculation of ESG data:
To get you started with ESG data, please see a few example of how to find ESG data for a single company and list of companies.
Read LSEG Workspace ESG Data: Quick Reference [ 5 page PDF document]
Viewing the ESG profile of a single company can help you understand the range of ESG data available in LSEG Workspace.
LSEG Workspace provides limited high-frequency financial data at 1 minute to 1 hour intervals.
High-frequency (tick or intraday) times-series data is available on LSEG Workspace for the previous 90 days only. Bloomberg (available to business and economics students via their department) carries high-frequency data for previous 250 days.
Historical high-frequency data is not otherwise available - the smallest historical time-series data available is daily. The library does not subscribe to Data Bento, Morning Star, Tick History, Tick Data Market, Quant or any other commercial provider of high-frequency data.
The default frequency of data is daily, scroll-up for higher frequencies: 1, 3, 5, 10, 15, 30 or 45 minutes and 1, 2, 3 or 4 hours.
The default frequency of data is daily, scroll-up for higher frequencies: 1, 3, 5, 10, 15, 30 or 45 minutes and 1, 2, 3 or 4 hours.
LSEG Workspace add-in for Excel: Quick Start Guide [6 page PDF document]
Getting Started with LSEG Workspace for Students: Excel [35 min video course]
Getting Started with LSEG Workspace for Students: Excel [45 min instructor-led webinar]
