Art Full Text Full text coverage from 1997 onwards, indexing from 1984. Subjects covered include the visual arts, architecture, archaeology, art history, design, fashion, film, television and video. International coverage. Art reproductions included in the content are indexed separately. Includes the Art Abstracts database.
ArtstorOver 1 million digital images of visual material encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures. Focuses on, but is not limited to, the arts. Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. Can be searched by keyword, or, through the advanced search, by creator, title, location, repository, subject, material, style or period, work type, culture, description, technique, and number. Now on JSTOR.
Bibliography of British and Irish HistoryProvides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55 BC to the present.
Alternative link if main link does not work.
Brill's Jacoby OnlineFragments and testimonia of Greek and other historians of antiquity, begun by Felix Jacoby. Important for the study of ancient history and historiography.
Brill's New Pauly OnlineAn encyclopedia for the study of Greco-Roman culture and its influence on modern world history. Includes illustrations, survey maps and tables. Latin and Greek quotations are also given in translation.
Translated Texts for Historians This e-book collection makes available historical sources from 300-800 AD translated into English from Greek, Latin, Syriac, Coptic, Arabic, Georgian, Armenian and Old Irish. Types of writing include histories, chronicles, letters, annals, formularies, compendia, political speeches, military and theological handbooks, poems, documentary sources, records of church councils, biblical and theological commentaries, sermons, church histories, Christian treatises, Christian and pagan panegyric and polemic, neoplatonic texts, lives of saints, bishops and popes.
Databases for Classics and Ancient History provide access to a huge range of primary source archives and secondary sources online. They allow you to search and access material without having to travel to archives and can bring material from across different archives together under a theme. They can also provide character recognition, full-text search, transcripts along with supporting contextual analysis, accompanying essays or tools such as timelines to help you make sense of the material you are working with.