Classics and Ancient History: Web Resources

Attalus: sources for Greek and Roman history

This site contains detailed lists of events and sources for the history of the Hellenistic world and the Roman republic.

Herculaneum in pictures

This site contains images and a plan of Herculaneum.

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook

This website from Fordham University contains links to online texts and sources organised by location and theme.

Judaism and Rome

This European Research Council (ERC) project site includes resources for studying Roman imperial ideology, or Roman imperial discourses, artefacts and performances.

LacusCurtius

A website on Roman antiquity, including a Roman Gazetteer, Greek and Latin texts and a Latin inscriptions.

Online Coins of the Roman Empire (OCRE)

A joint project of the American Numismatic Society and the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World at New York University. OCRE records every published type of Roman Imperial Coinage from 31 BC to AD 491.

PHI Searchable Greek Inscriptions

The PHI Greek Inscriptions database is a comprehensive resource for researchers and students interested in ancient Greek inscriptions. It includes a wide range of inscriptions from various regions and periods, organized by period and corpora. The database allows users to search by geographic area or specific words and phrases, making it a valuable tool for academic research. The database is free to use for personal study and does not permit copying or re-use. It is designed to aid in locating relevant texts and is not intended to replace print volumes of inscriptions.

Pompeiiinpictures

This site contains images of Pompeii.

Predicting the Past

Predicting the Past allows you to use generative AI models, Ithaca  and Aeneas to contextualise, restore and attribute fragments of Greek and Latin inscriptions. By entering known text, the tools will provide epigraphic parallels, restore missing characters, and attribute the inscription to its original place and time of writing.

Roman Inscriptions of Britain

Browse and discover the voices of the past, drawn from the writings of those who lived, served, and died in Roman Britain.

Roman Provincial Coinage Online (RPC)

RPC presents an authoritative account of the coins minted in the provinces of the empire. It is based at the Ashmolean Museum at the University of Oxford.

Archaeology Data Service

Unique Open Access repository of UK heritage comprising journals, grey literature, project archives including unpublished reports, bibliographies and theses, all freely available to researchers.

Beazley Archive Pottery Database
The BAPD is the world largest database of ancient Greek painted pottery (‘Greek vases’). It contains records of almost 130,000 ancient pots and about 250,000 images.

Lexicon of Greek Personal Names

The Lexicon of Greek Personal Names traces every bearer of every name, drawing on a huge variety of evidence and covering every region where Greek came to be spoken or written from Marseilles to India, from the late 8th c BCE to about 600 CE.

Stanford Orbis

The Stanford Geospatial Network Model of the Roman World. This interactive model reconstructs the duration and financial cost of travel in antiquity.

Ostia Antica

A website dedicated to Ostia, the harbour city of ancient Rome.

Perseus Catalog
The Perseus Catalog is an attempt to provide systematic catalog access to at least one online edition of every major Greek and Latin author (both surviving and fragmentary) from antiquity to 600 CE.

Pleiades
Pleiades gives scholars and students worldwide the ability to use, create, and share historical geographic information about the ancient world in digital form.

Sylloge Nummorum Graecorum

The Sylloge Nummorum Graecorum database contains records and images for 25,000 coins from the Sylloge Nummorum Graecorum volumes of Greek coins in public and private collections in the British Isles. This also includes the coins produced by all ancient civilisations of the Mediterranean and neighbouring regions except Rome, though it does include the Roman Provincial series often known as 'Greek Imperials'.

WebLIMC
WebLIMC gives access to digitised resources assembled in the preparation of the Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae.