Use our online reading lists to find key readings for your modules. Link directly to an e-book, scanned chapter, or the library catalogue with information about where to find the book in the Library.
The Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL) Online is the largest and most detailed Latin dictionary in the world. With extensive and detailed entries covering the classical period up to about 600 A.D.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era, complimented by tools for philological and literary study, such as lexica and vocubulary tools.
The following resources are particularly useful for e-books for the study of Classics
Aris & Phillips Classical Texts Online makes available over 150 invaluable editions of Greek and Latin texts. The Classical Texts offers modern editions of Classical Greek and Latin texts, with substantial introductions, facing-page text and English translation, with extensive accompanying commentaries. Volumes are designed to be accessible to those without Greek or Latin and support those learning the original language.
BAR Digital Library is the world’s largest collection of academic archaeological research from around the world.
Blackwell Companions to the Ancient World provides sophisticated and authoritative overviews of periods of ancient history, genres of classical literature, and the most important themes in ancient culture. Each volume is made up of essays written by individual scholars within their area of specialization, designed for an international audience of scholars, students, and general readers.
Cambridge Companions: Classical Studies provides a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers and topics in Classical Studies.
Cambridge Histories: Ancient History and Classics concentrates on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts offering a big picture perspective in the subject area.
Loeb Classical Library contains more than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek and English texts aiming to be a virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin Literature; epic and lyric poetry, history, travel, philosophy and oratory, the writings of early medical writers and mathematicians and the Church Fathers who make particular use of pagan culture.
Brill's New Pauly Online is a modern, encyclopedic reference work that offers a rich exploration of the ancient world, bridging historical and cultural gaps. It covers Greco-Roman antiquity, from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe; the interaction between Greco-Roman culture and other cultural traditions and the enduring impact of antiquity and the ongoing reinterpretation of ancient heritage.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Classical Studies offers an authoritative and state-of-the-art survey of current thinking and research. Specially commissioned essays from leading international figures in the discipline give critical examination of the progress and direction of debates, providing scholars and students with compelling new perspectives.
Most of our print books can be borrowed. If the book you want is on loan, you can place a hold on it and you will get an email when it comes back.
Our printed books are arranged by subject classification. The Classification Scheme can seem complicated to start with, but you will soon get used to it.
Most books for Classics are on floor 3 of the Library, or in the floor 3 extension. Classmarks to look out for begin:
Need something we don't have in stock? Simply tell us what you need and we will try our best to add it to our collection or get it from another library.
