Skip to Main Content

Classics and Ancient History: Journals

Why Use Journals

Shows a pile of journals

Journals are generally more current than books and more specific in their focus. Many academic journals are peer-reviewed, meaning they are evaluated by other experts in the same field before publication. This makes them a good quality source of academic information.

You can access thousands of journals through the Library, most of these online: we subscribe to over 67,000 journals electronically. 

Get It For Me

Black and white papers on a shelf

Get It For Me

For items not available in the library, use our document supply service.

Request articles, books and chapters for your research.

Order new books, borrow inter-library loans, digitise articles and chapters, request postal loans.

Library Search

Library Search

Finding online articles

Featured Journals

Journal Databases

Anee Philalogique Année philologique

Index to scholarship on the thought, culture and society of ancient Greece and Rome.

JSTOR
A humanities and social science journal archive that has strong covereage of classical history, literature and archeaology.

Project MuseProject Muse

Journals database of scholarly titles in the humanities and social sciences, covering literature history, culture and archaeology.

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar 
broadly searches the web for scholarly literature across disciplines and source types: journal articles, theses etc. from publisher websites and institutional repositories.

Find out more on the Library website here.

Web Bridge

Library databases will often show a link to the PDF or full text of the article which you can download or print. However, there may be occasions where the full text is not available from within the particular database you are searching

In this case you will need to click on the WebBridge link or icon webbridge icon

WebBridge searches across our other databases and subscriptions to try and locate the article for you. Our finding full text guide PDF Documentshows you how WebBridge works