Economics: Company

Company

Company databases provide information about major public and private companies:

Company information including name and ticker, incorporation, ownership, structure and governance, stock market equities, industry classification and competitors.

Company financials including accounts, income statement, balance sheet, capitalisation, ratios, and credit score and risk.

Company news including deals and mergers and acquisitions (M&A).

Find information for individual companies and/or groups of companies using in-built screening and charting tools, and excel add-ins.

Login to company databases with your University IT number (U-number) and password (unless otherwise stated).

Email Us

Business Source Ultimate
Business Source Ultimate is a research database for business and management, economics and finance, and marketing.

Business Source Ultimate provides MarketLine reports with 15,000+ company profiles, 5,500+ SWOT analyses, and 8,800+ industry profiles worldwide. It also includes case studies from Harvard Business Review and MarketLine, and 3,400+ full-text academic journals and trade magazines, including 39 of 50 titles from the FT50 business journals list.

• To find company profiles and SWOT analyses, enter the company name as a search term, and select Industry Profile and/or SWOT Analysis as the Publication Type.
• To find industry profiles and market research reports, enter the industry type as a search term, and select Industry Profile and/or Market Research Report as the Publication Type.
• To find case studies, enter the company name, industry type or subject, and select Case Study as the Publication Type.
• Sort the results by Publication Date to find the most recent reports. 

Database training and support: Resource of the Month Training Video

Capital IQ 
Capital IQ is a global company and financial markets database from S&P Global.

Capital IQ provides company and financial data on 62,000 public companies and 4,400,000 private companies (including merger and acquisitions), and S&P equity indices worldwide. Find information for individual companies and/or create reports on groups of companies using in-built screening and charting tools. An excel add-in can be downloaded on personal Windows devices (not University or Mac devices). 

• On first time use, sign-up to create a Capital IQ account with your @warwick.ac.uk email address. Click on New User and complete the registration process. Thereafter, login with your @warwick.ac.uk email and Capital IQ password.
• Note, the Library has a subscription to Capital IQ only (not Capital IQ Pro).

Database training and support: Resource of the Month Training Video | Capital IQ User Guides

Fame
Fame is a company information database for the UK and Ireland from Bureau van Dijk.

Fame provides company and financial data for 11 million public and private companies in the UK and Ireland. Find information for individual companies and/or create reports on groups of companies using in-built screening tools.

Database training and support: Database tour and video tutorials available via Help menu

Gale Business Insights
Gale Business Insights is a business research database from Gale.

Gale Business Insights provides company profiles, financial data and SWOT analyses for 500,000+ major public and private companies worldwide. It also includes 4,000+ full-text academic journals, trade magazines and newspapers.

Database training and support: Gale Business Insights Training Video

Mergent Online
Mergent Online is a global company information database from FTSE Russell, with a focus on companies in the USA.

Mergent Online provides company profiles, financial data and analysts reports for 22,500 US public companies, 45,000 US private companies, and 33,000 non-US companies. Find information for individual companies and/or create reports on groups of companies using in-built screening tools. Access analysts reports from Investext tab, and industry and sector reports from the Industry Analysis tab, and country profiles and risk reports from Country Insight tab.

Database training and support: Database support available via Help menu

Orbis
Orbis is a global company information database from Bureau van Dijk.

Orbis provides company and financial data for public and private companies worldwide. Find information for individual companies and/or create reports on groups of companies using in-built screening tools. Note, the Library has a subscription to Orbis (Plus Medium), not Orbis (Full - Historical).

Database training and support: Database tour and video tutorials available via Help menu

Orbis Bank Focus
Orbis Bank Focus is a global bank information database from Bureau van Dijk.

Orbis Bank Focus provides company and financial data for 46 million banks worldwide. Find information for individual banks and/or create reports on groups of banks using in-built screening tools. 

Database training and support: Database tour and video tutorials available via Help menu

Orbis Crossborder Investment
Orbis Crossborder Investment is a global investment database from Bureau van Dijk.

Orbis Crossborder Investment provides foreign direct investment (FDI) and mergers and acquisitions (M&A) for public and private companies worldwide.

Database training and support: Database tour and video tutorials available via Help menu

Refinitiv Eikon
Refinitiv Eikon is a global company, financial markets and news databases from LSEG.

Refinitiv Eikon provides company and financial data for global companies including environment, social and governance (ESG) and merger and acquisitions (M&A). It also provides current and historical financial markets data including individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities and futures for both international and domestic markets. Find information for individual companies/indices and/or create reports on groups of companies/indices using in-built screening and charting tools, and an excel add-in.

• The library's Refinitiv Eikon terminal can be used by all University students and researchers. 
• Refinitiv Eikon is available on-campus only, with one pre-bookable terminal on Floor 1 of the Library.
• You are advised to pre-book the Refinitiv Eikon terminal using the library's booking form
• Additional Refinitiv Eikon terminals are available in the Warwick Business School, for use by WBS students and researchers only.

To access Refinitiv Eikon:

1. Login to the Refinitiv Eikon PC with your University IT number and password.
2. Wait and allow all applications to open before proceeding.
3. Double click the Eikon icon and wait for the Refinitiv Eikon database to open.

The Refinitiv Eikon login is automatic. Do not enter an Eikon username and password. If the login fails, close all applications and try again. You may require several attempts to login to Refinitiv Eikon. If you require assistance logging into Refinitiv Eikon, please see local notices at the terminal and/or contact the library helpdesk. 

Database training and support: Training videos and Certification available via LSEG Learning Centre