Skip to Main Content

Economics: Journals

Guide to economics resources at University of Warwick Library. Includes books, journals, databases, study skills, referencing and economics librarian.

Economics - Journals

Economics banner

Journals

Journals are regular (serial) publications that publish the outcome of original research and are aimed at other researchers or practitioners. They can be general covering economics as a discipline, or focus on a specific area of economics.

JournalJournal articles are essays that present new research, or discuss new developments in the field. As such, they focus on in depth analysis of specific issues.

Journal articles undergo peer-review, which is a process of review by experts in the field (peers). It is aimed at validating the research prior to publication of an article, ensuring quality, originality, contribution to the knowledge base, and authority in a research article.

Working papers and pre-prints are pre-publication journal articles and book chapters. They are published early to disseminate research and generate discussion. Working papers may undergo revision and therefore have different versions. Working papers and pre-prints have not undergone peer review.

American Economic Association journals

American Economics Association logoEBSCO logoThe library does not hold institutional membership of the American Economic Association (AEA), but the full-text of all AEA published journals are available via the EconLit database, without embargo.

  • American Economic Review (AER)
  • American Economic Review: Insights (AER: Insights) (24 month embargo)
  • Journal of Economic Literature (JEL)
  • Journal of Economic Perspectives (JEP)
  • American Economic Journal: Applied Economics
  • American Economic Journal: Economic Policy
  • American Economic Journal: Macroeconomics
  • American Economic Journal: Microeconomics
  • AEA Papers and Proceedings

Login to EconLit > click on Full Text Publications > search by Journal Title. If journal article is under embargo, request a copy via library's Get It For Me (document supply) service.

Key Economics Journals

The following journals are highly rated for 4* and 4 research in the ABS Academic Journals Guide. Links are provided to the most recent issue available. Many journals are available from multiple providers. Search the eJournals A-Z to find additional holdings.

Library Search

Library Search

Finding Journal Articles

Web Bridge

WebBridge iconWebBridge is a tool that helps you find and access full-text journal articles. If the full-text article is not available in your search engine, click on the WebBridge icon to see if it is available from another library database.

Journal Databases

Journals and journal articles can be found using Library Search, however it does not discover content on all economics databases, so journal  or bibliographic databases are preferred for literature searching.

Laptop and codeJournal databases index and abstract articles in specific journals. Some are general and index journals across a range of disciplines, and others are subject specific and index only economics journals (or another discipline).

Journal databases are not always full-text: some will include the full-text article, but others will provide an abstract (summary) only. If journal articles are not available, the library has a document supply service.

Some journal databases provide citation information, which allows researcher to measure the usage and impact of articles in their research field, and to find related academic literature. Citation databases can be useful, but they are general in scope, and do not index a wide range of social science journals.

Economics Journal Databases

Proquest iconABI/INFORM Global - Indexes business, economics, finance and management journals and newspapers. Includes selected full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, conference papers, country and market reports.

EBSCO iconBusiness Source Ultimate - Indexes business, economics, finance, management and marketing journals. Includes selected full-text journal articles, case studies, country and company reports.

EBSCO iconEconLit - Indexes 1,000+ economics and finance journals, working papers, dissertations and books using Journal of Economic Literature classification scheme. Includes full-text articles from over 600 journals.

Economics Working Papers

CEPR logoCentre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR) - open access research publications from CEPR including policy papers, discussion papers, books and reports, and the Economic Policy Journal.

SSRN logoEconomics Research Network (ERN) part of the Social Science Research Network (SSRN) an open access repository of pre-prints or working papers in economics.

NBER logoNational Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) - over 1,200 working papers on economics are published annually.

 

The library has an institutional subscription to NBER permitting users to download all working papers. You can also create an NBER account with your @warwick.ac.uk email address to benefit from email alert services.

REPEC logoResearch Papers in Economics (RePEc) - a decentralised database of economics working papers, journal articles, books and book chapters, and software components including EconPapers search engine.

Other Journal Databases

Ovid iconAPA PsycInfo - indexes scholarly articles, books, conference papers and dissertations in the psychological, social, behavioural, and health sciences from 1806, and is of interest to behavioural economists.

Elsevier iconScopus - Indexes 25,000+ worldwide, peer reviewed journals and conference papers from 1970. Includes citations to measure impact and find related literature. Focus on sciences but also covers arts, humanities and social sciences.

Web of Science iconWeb of Science - Indexes 22,000+ worldwide, peer reviewed journals and conference papers from 1900. Includes citations to measure impact and find related literature. Focus on sciences, but also covers arts, humanities and social sciences. 

Proquest iconWorldwide Political Science Abstracts - Indexes 2,500 worldwide political science (and related subjects) journals, books and dissertations from 1975. Includes economics, environment, government, international relations, military, law and religion.

Google Scholar

Google iconGoogle Scholar is an academic search engine which indexes books, journal articles, and other scholarly materials. It is multidisciplinary, with a good coverage of economics, although with some US bias. It includes links to full-text documents including open access materials. To improve access, set Library Links to University of Warwick in the Settings. Google Scholar also includes citation information and allows you to find related literature.

Get It For Me

Documents on a shelf

For journal articles not available in the library, use our document supply service to request digitisation of articles from our print journals, and to copies of journal articles using inter-library loan.

Get It For Me

Academic and Research Skills

Study Skills

Study Skills

Discover a range of library and study skills guides including how to study, how to think critically, and how to write essays and prepare for examinations.

Referencing

Referencing

Discover how to avoid plagiarism, how to use the Harvard referencing style, and how to manage references with EndNote referencing software.

Stock market data on laptop

Databases

Discover the range of research databases for business, economics and financial reports, statistics and data.