Economists need specialist software to find and analyse economic data. At the University of Warwick, economics software is provided and supported by a number of departments including IT Services, the Library and the Department of Economics.
This guide outlines some of the key resources, including Bloomberg, Eikon, EViews and STATA, how you access them, and where to get training and support.
The University of Warwick has a central IT Services team (part of the Informational and Digital Group) who provide core IT infrastructure, software and support to all university students and staff. This includes the computer network and WIFI, email and telephone, Microsoft Office 365 software, specialist software, and printing. Visit the IT Services website or drop into the IT Helpdesk on the 1st floor of the Library.
The Department of Economics also has a local IT Services team with responsibility for computers and printers in the department, and also the Bloomberg terminals in room S.055. You can contact the Department of Economics IT team via economics.it@warwick.ac.uk.
Students undertaking the EC331: Research in Applied Economics (RAE) module can access additional technical support from the RAE Helpdesk which includes a forum, links to recommended online tutorials, and 1-2-1 appointments with an adviser.
Bloomberg is a specialist business and financial markets news database. Bloomberg provides current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities and futures for both international and domestic markets. It also provides company profiles and financial statements, analysts' forecasts, environmental, social and governance data, and news on worldwide financial markets.
The Department of Economics has three Bloomberg terminals in room S0.55. Students must register for a Bloomberg for Education account, and complete the Bloomberg Market Concepts (BMC) course, before being permitted to Book a Bloomberg terminal. Further information and support is available from Department of Economics IT Services.
[This is a Department of Economics resource and only available to students and researchers in the Department of Economics].
Refinitiv Eikon is a specialist business and financial markets news database. Refinitiv Eikon provides current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities and futures for both international and domestic markets. It also provides company profiles and financial statements, analysts' forecasts, environmental, social and governance data, and news on worldwide financial markets.
The Library has one Refinitiv Eikon terminal located on the 1st floor near to the print, copy and scan machine. Any student can Book the Refinitiv Eikon terminal for up to 2 hours per day. Booking is advisable during busy periods.
Login to the Refinitiv Eikon PC using your university IT username and password. Click on the orange Thomson Reuters Eikon database icon. Login is automatic but may be slow. Do not enter any additional username and password. If login fails, restart the PC and try again.
User guides and training materials are available via the Refinitiv Learning Centre, and students can also complete the Refinitiv Eikon Certification. Additional support is available from your Academic Support Librarian.
[This is a Library resource and available to any student or researcher at the University of Warwick].
EViews is statistical analysis software for time-series oriented econometric analysis. EViews is available from the Software Centre on all IDG (university) managed computers to Department of Economics students and staff only. The Department of Economics has 10 EViews licenses. For help accessing and installing EViews, please contact University IT Services. User training materials are available on the EViews website: helpdesk, online tutorials, and textbooks.
[This is an Information and Digital Group resource and only available to students and researchers in the Department of Economics].
Mathematica | MatLab | Qualtrics | SPSS | STATA
The University provides access to many maths and statistics analysis softwares. You can access and download/install software from IT Services Software List. For help accessing and installing software, please contact University IT Services. Online training courses are available from Information and Digital Group's IDG Training Site.
[These are Information and Digital Group resources and are available to any student or researcher at the University of Warwick].
Discover a range of library and study skills guides including how to study, how to think critically, and how to write essays and prepare for examinations.
Discover how to avoid plagiarism, how to use the Harvard referencing style, and how to manage references with EndNote referencing software.
Discover the range of research databases for business, economics and financial reports, statistics and data.
Discover the library's support for researchers including literature searching, reference management, research data management, open access and publishing and research metrics.