Skip to Main Content

History: Databases

Library subject guide for History

Why Use Databases?

Image shows student using a laptop

Databases for History provide access to a huge range of primary source archives online. They allow you to search and access material without having to travel to archives and can bring material from across different archives together under a theme. They can also provide character recognition, full-text search, transcripts along with supporting contextual analysis, accompanying essays or tools such as timelines to help you make sense of the material you are working with.

Gale Primary Sources

Gale Primary Sources provides access to over 2 centuries of unique and rare newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps and photographs through detailed subject indexing, interactive tools and enriched metadata. It allows cross searching of 14 key primary source databases:

  • 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection
  • 19th Century UK Periodicals
  • Archives Unbound
  • Archives of Sexuality & Gender
  • British Library Newspapers
  • Daily Mail Historical Archive 1896-2004
  • The Financial Times Historical Archive
  • The Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003
  • The Independent Digital Archive 1986-2016
  • The Making of the Modern World
  • The Sunday Times Digital Archive
  • The Times Digital Archive 1785-2008
  • The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
  • U.S. Declassified Documents

Library Search

Library Search

Featured Databases for Early Modern Sources

Featured Databases for Modern Sources

Featured Databases for Global History Sources

Bibliography of British & Irish History

Bibliography of British & Irish History

The Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH) is an online record of over 630,000 publications relating to British and Irish history, including thousands published this year.

For more information on using the BBIH see the help videos here

Don't use Google!

Library Online Courses

Icons showing ideas for online learning

Library online courses

Find out about the online courses we offer for all students to help develop both your wider academic skills and skills in using the Library for your research.

AM Explorer

AM Explorer from Adam Matthew Digital provides a single point of access to discover millions of pages of unique primary source content, with built-in federated search functionality across all our Adam Matthew collections.