19th Century British Pamphlets Online
A growing collection of digitised text and catalogue records of pamphlet collections in the United Kingdom. The more than 26,000 pamphlets provides a rich and coherent corpus of primary sources with which to study the socio-political and economic landscape of 19th century Britain. The pamphlets are being delivered on the JSTOR platform.
Watch video guide on searching | Access search guides | Access academic research skill course by JSTOR
A full-text multi-part collection which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. Subjects range from art to business, and from children to politics. The periodicals are presented in their original published context.
Includes sources like censuses, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, maps, and more. UK collections offer censuses for England, Wales, Isle of Man, Channel Islands, and Scotland, including Births and Baptisms (1834-1906), Marriage Licenses (1521-1869), Deaths and Burials (1834-1934), and Poor Law Records (1840-1938) in London.
Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970 : The Middle East Online Series 1
Primary source documents from the British National Archives that chronicle the politics, wars, administration, and diplomacy surrounding the Palestine Mandate and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender
Contains primary sources on political, social and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. The collection covers LGBTQ History & Culture since 1600. Content includes newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts and pamphlets.
Conditions & Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945
British Foreign Office documents representing Britain's information flow from occupied territories in Europe. Resistance, economic and social conditions and intelligence operations are all reported. Also includes cine film footage and newly commissioned essays on life under German occupation in France, the Low Countries and Norway.
Explore gender through British source material from the fifteenth to early twentieth century. Through correspondence, advice literature, periodicals, ephemera and government documents, traditional models of gender and contemporary perceptions of these can be explored.
Access searching guide | Access training materials and guides
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
An extensive digital library of over 180,000 eighteenth-century printed books published in the United Kingdom and the colonies between 1701 and 1800. Includes books, pamphlets and broadsides in all subjects —with works by many well-known and lesser-known authors.
Making of the Modern World Parts I-III
The Making of the Modern World covers the history of Western trade, industries, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation, covering 1450-1945. It is also strong in the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century.
Mass Observation Online 1937-1972
Mass Observation Online provides integrated access to almost 400,000 digital images of material from the Mass Observation Archive (MOA). In addition, it functions as a finding aid for all material held on Adam Matthew Publications microfilm, and in the Mass Observation Archive.
Political Extremism and Radicalism in the Twentieth Century
Warwick has access to Political Extremism and Radicalism: Far-Right and Left Political Groups in the U.S., Europe, and Australia in the Twentieth Century. This covers a broad assortment of both far-right and radical left political groups. It offers a diverse mixture of materials, including periodicals, campaign propaganda, government records, oral histories, and various ephemera from 1900s to 2010s.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
A collection of original archival materials about popular culture in the U.S. and U.K. from 1950-1975. The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period. Access is available to collections I-II.
Access searching guides | Access training materials and guides
Post War Europe: Refugees, Exile & Resettlement 1945-1950
This online archive provides access to primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II. The archive covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves.
Collection of primary source documents including 1,200 eyewitness accounts, 4,000 rare photographs, c.450 books, Nazi propaganda material including Nazi calendars, Hitler youth materials, anti-Semitic encyclopedia, songbooks and more.
Women, War and Society, 1914-1918
A fully searchable database of approximately 126,000 images. The collection covers nearly every aspect of women’s war effort and will be of interest to those working on women’s, military, social, cultural, economic, local and family history.
Databases for History provide access to a huge range of primary source archives online. They allow you to search and access material without having to travel to archives and can bring material from across different archives together under a theme. They can also provide character recognition, full-text search, transcripts along with supporting contextual analysis, accompanying essays or tools such as timelines to help you make sense of the material you are working with.
19th Century UK Periodicals
Ancestry Library Edition
Defining Gender 1450-1910