Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century
Collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as academic journals and news feeds covering the region, reference articles and commentary, maps and statistics, audio and video and more.
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes
Digital library offering full text of books on Spanish and Latin American literature, language and history, as well as, forums, and audiovisual library and news clips.
A comprehensive index to information about Mexican Americans/Chicanos in a variety of publications dating from the 1960s to the present. Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
Watch video guide on how to search | Access training materials and guides
Over 7,000 hand-written documents and more than 40,000 bibliographic records on Colonial History between 1574-1739. This collection covers Britain's colonial relations with the Americas and other European rivals and also the Caribbean and Atlantic world.
Making of the Modern World Parts I-III
The Making of the Modern World covers the history of Western trade, industries, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation, covering 1450-1945. It is also strong in the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century.
Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)
Curated and indexed declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
Index and comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered, from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery.
Watch video guide on how to search | Access training materials and guides
Primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history in the form of manuscript, print and illustrations. Useful for the study of transport, trading practices, exchange, consumption and society generally.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Details of books, book chapters, articles, and conference proceedings relating to Latin American studies.
HAPI - Hispanic American Periodical Index
Contains journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Access training materials and guides | Access video tutorials
LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center)
A selective guide to Latin American internet resources organized by subject and country. Provides access to a wide variety of full-text resources.
Includes nearly 400 original-language documentaries from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The videos were produced in Latin America, by Latin Americans, about Latin American issues, such as human rights, violence, immigration, illiteracy, popular culture, and political history.
Access to over 750 Spanish language e-journals maintained by the Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México. They cover all aspects of the humanities, social sciences and sciences specialising in materials published in and about the nations of the Spanish speaking world in Latin America, Portugal, Spain and the Caribbean.
Argentina's foremost literary and cultural journal of the twentieth century, founded and edited by Victoria Ocampo, with high profile contributors. Sur represented a brand of liberalism, a resistance to populism and mass culture and held elitist values which offended the more dominant phases of Argentine thought.
Databases for History provide access to a huge range of primary source archives online. They allow you to search and access material without having to travel to archives and can bring material from across different archives together under a theme. They can also provide character recognition, full-text search, transcripts along with supporting contextual analysis, accompanying essays or tools such as timelines to help you make sense of the material you are working with.
Colonial State Papers
Global Commodities
Latin America in Video 
Redalyc
SUR, 1931-1992