A global black studies collection that focuses on the migrations, communities, and ideologies of people of African descent.
Contains a range of primary source documents from the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France.
Church Missionary Society Periodicals
Primary sources documenting missionary work from the nineteenth to the twenty-first century. The periodicals contain news, journals and reports, including annual reports of the Mission in various countries and an image gallery.
Papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices c1820-1970. They cover the whole of the modern period of European colonisation of the continent from the British Government’s perspective. Includes an interactive map to search by country.
Featuring key newspapers from East Africa from the 1940s to the early 2000s. This collection includes Daily Nation (Kenya), The Ethiopian Herald, and The Monitor (Uganda).
Around 60,000 images of original documents and printed publications including books, maps, diaries, pamphlets, reports, correspondence from the period 1492-1969, relating to Africa, the Americas, Australasia, Oceania, and South Asia. Material is arranged thematically and linked to essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies.
US Declassified Documents Online
Materials cover virtually every significant foreign policy development and international crisis. It includes declassified documents from US Department of State and National Security Council relating to Africa as well as the end of colonialism.
Databases for History provide access to a huge range of primary source archives online. They allow you to search and access material without having to travel to archives and can bring material from across different archives together under a theme. They can also provide character recognition, full-text search, transcripts along with supporting contextual analysis, accompanying essays or tools such as timelines to help you make sense of the material you are working with.
Confidential Print Africa
East African Newspapers
Empire Online