History: Home

Gale Primary Sources provides access to nearly 6 centuries of unique and rare newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps and photographs across 26 different subject databases. It provides a range of discovery routes through detailed subject indexing, interactive tools and enriched data, with cross searching of these key primary source databases.

AM Explorer will allow you to search across all of the AM unique primary source collections in a single search.

Proquest Databases

All collections on the Proquest platform can be crossed searched, including the primary source collections.

For best results, use the Source Types filter on the main search page and choose the type of material you're looking for, for example: Archival Materials; Historical Newspapers; Historical Periodicals; Pamphlets & Ephemeral Works for primary source material.

Featured Resource

Mass Observation Project I-III 

Mass Observation Project consists of all the directives (questionnaires) sent out by Mass Observation and the responses to them from the hundreds of Mass Observers.
Addressing topics such as the Falklands War, clothing, attitudes to the USA, reading and television habits, morality and religion, and Britain's relations with Europe, the directives and responses are an essential resource for anyone interested in late-twentieth and early twenty-first-century British social history.
Broad themes covered include current events, friends and family, the home, leisure, politics, society, culture and the media, work, finance and the economy and new technology and much content that centres on narratives of shared national experience, including through the media and television.

Your librarian is available for one-to-one appointments on-campus and online, via Teams, and can advise you on searching for, and using library resources, referencing, and managing information.

Andy Calvert

Email me

Chat on Teams

Drop-in support in the FAB 2.25: Wednesdays 1-2pm (term time)

Library online courses

Find out about the online courses we offer for all students to help develop both your wider academic skills and skills in using the Library for your research.