AM Scholar: Medieval and Early Modern Studies
A collection of primary sources from the Medieval and Early Modern period.
Includes books, manuscripts, domestic works, plus letters and papers from important figures from the period.
A major collection of early-modern historical documents from the reigns of Elizabethan I and James I/VI. An online archive of almost 30,000 manuscript documents written by some of the most significant figures of Elizabethan and Jacobean history.
Over 7,000 hand-written documents and more than 40,000 bibliographic records on Colonial History between 1574-1739. This collection covers Britain's colonial relations with the Americas and other European rivals and also the Caribbean and Atlantic world.
Explore gender through British source material from the fifteenth to early twentieth century. Through correspondence, advice literature, periodicals, ephemera and government documents, traditional models of gender and contemporary perceptions of these can be explored.
Access searching guide | Access training materials and guides
Features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700.
Provides access to almost 25,000 rare and often unique books, from the period 1450 – 1700, digitised from European collections of historic and bibliographic importance. It builds upon and complements Early English Books Online (EEBO) and mostly contains non-Anglophone materials.
From 'ordinary' people through to more prominent individuals and families, primary sources in Early Modern England: Society, Culture & Everyday Life, 1500-1700 show how everyday life was experienced across Early Modern England.
English Historical Documents Online
Contains over 5,500 expertly indexed and fully searchable primary documents for British (not just English) history from 500-1914. The sources cover a wide spectrum of topics, from political and constitutional issues to social, economic, religious as well as cultural history.
Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Interdisciplinary coverage of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400 - 1700). Includes a full text journal collection, Iter Bibliography and Iter Italicum. Iter Bibliography includes over 1.1 million citations for secondary source material. Iter Italicum is a comprehensive finding list of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts in collections across the world.
Making of the Modern World Parts I-III
The Making of the Modern World covers the history of Western trade, industries, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation, covering 1450-1945. In addition, the archive offers resources on social history, gender and the growth of the early modern monarchy.
State Papers Online, 1509-1782
A searchable archive of 16th, 17th and 18th-century State Papers Domestic, Foreign, Scotland, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council for research and teaching projects in politics, government, and social, economic, early modern Britain and religious history.
Warburg Institute Library Digital Collections
Digitized early printed books and manuscripts from the Warburg collection. The aim of this collection is to make out-of-print source material on Medieval and Renaissance studies freely available online.
Databases for History provide access to a huge range of primary source archives online. They allow you to search and access material without having to travel to archives and can bring material from across different archives together under a theme. They can also provide character recognition, full-text search, transcripts along with supporting contextual analysis, accompanying essays or tools such as timelines to help you make sense of the material you are working with.
The Cecil Papers 
Colonial State Papers
Defining Gender 1450-1910
Early English Books Online
Early European Books 
Early Modern England